Hampshire v Derbyshire
Schweppes County Championship 1977
VenueDean Park, Bournemouth on 18th, 19th, 20th May 1977 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossHampshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsHampshire 5 (Batting 4, Bowling 1); Derbyshire 8 (Batting 4, Bowling 4)
UmpiresDGL Evans, A Jepson
ScorersC Beardmore (Derbyshire), VH Isaacs (Hampshire)
Close of play day 1Derbyshire (1) 32/0 (Hill 11*, Wright 20*)
Close of play day 2Hampshire (2) 81/5 (Rice 18*, Gilliat 6*)

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CG Greenidgeb Hendrick22     
BA Richardsb Miller115     
DR Turnerlbw b Miller5     
TE Jestyb Hendrick28     
*RMC Gilliatc Tunnicliffe b Swarbrook90     
JM Ricec Miller b Barlow15     
NGC Cowleyc Graham-Brown b Barlow4     
MNS Taylorrun out3     
+GR Stephensonnot out13     
AME Robertsc Tunnicliffe b Swarbrook5     
JW Southernrun out1     
Extras(5 lb, 8 nb)13
Total(all out, 100 overs)314
Fall of wickets:
1-34, 2-65, 3-166, 4-180, 5-235, 6-248, 7-279, 8-295, 9-311, 10-314 (100 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hendrick21   5492--
Tunnicliffe17   2620--
Barlow13   1492--
Miller28   7832--
Swarbrook21   5582--

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Hillrun out90     
JG Wrightb Rice151     
G Millerc and b Southern2     
*EJ Barlowc Greenidge b Rice33     
AJ Borringtonnot out9     
H Cartwrightnot out5     
JMH Graham-Browndid not bat      
FW Swarbrookdid not bat      
+RW Taylordid not bat      
M Hendrickdid not bat      
CJ Tunnicliffedid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 7 lb, 3 nb)12
Total(4 wickets, innings closed, 100 overs)302
Fall of wickets:
1-199, 2-218, 3-287, 4-290
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Roberts15   2500--
Rice18   7372--
Jesty8   3120--
Southern28   7821--
Cowley15   3430--
Richards4   1170--
Taylor12   2490--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CG Greenidgec Barlow b Miller19     
BA Richardsc Barlow b Hendrick2     
DR Turnerb Hendrick0     
TE Jestyc Wright b Miller19     
NGC Cowleyc Barlow b Swarbrook13     
JM Ricec Barlow b Tunnicliffe71     
*RMC Gilliatc Miller b Swarbrook11     
MNS Taylorc Wright b Hendrick0     
+GR Stephensonc Tunnicliffe b Swarbrook25     
AME Robertsb Tunnicliffe11     
JW Southernnot out1     
Extras(16 lb, 1 nb)17
Total(all out, 112.4 overs)189
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-9, 3-34, 4-47, 5-70, 6-96, 7-97, 8-158, 9-184, 10-189 (112.4 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hendrick19   9293--
Barlow9   1200--
Miller26   12542--
Swarbrook39   24373--

Derbyshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Hillc Stephenson b Roberts0     
JG Wrightb Taylor27     
G Millerc Richards b Southern45     
*EJ Barlowc Stephenson b Taylor11     
AJ Borringtonb Southern1     
H Cartwrightc Gilliat b Cowley19     
JMH Graham-Brownc Jesty b Southern0     
FW Swarbrookb Roberts8     
+RW Taylornot out12     
M Hendricknot out6     
CJ Tunnicliffedid not bat      
Extras(2 lb, 2 nb)4
Total(8 wickets, 54.5 overs)133
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-39, 3-71, 4-72, 5-105, 6-107, 7-107, 8-119
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Roberts13   6212--
Rice9   3200--
Southern18   6473--
Taylor7   2242--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> Day 1 Lunch: Hampshire (1) ?/? (Richards 112*, [unknown] ?*)
--> CG Greenidge (1) passed 6000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 15
--> TE Jesty (1) passed 5000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 15
--> A Hill (1) passed 4000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 42
--> JG Wright (1) passed his previous highest score of 38 in County Championship matches
--> JG Wright (1) made his first century in County Championship matches
--> JG Wright (1) passed his previous highest score of 89 in first-class matches
--> JG Wright (1) made his first century in first-class matches
--> JW Southern reached 100 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Derbyshire second innings

Maiden first-class hundred for JG Wright.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive