Leicestershire v Kent
County Championship 1976
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 25th, 26th, 27th August 1976 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultLeicestershire won by 7 wickets
PointsLeicestershire 17 (Batting 3, Bowling 4); Kent 7 (Batting 3, Bowling 4)
UmpiresHD Bird, PB Wight
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 107/3 (Davison 55*, Illingworth 10*; 34 overs)
Close of play day 2Kent (2) 163/9 (Elms 22*, Sayer 9*)

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GW Johnsonc Davison b Booth5      
+D Nichollsc Tolchard b Higgs11      
CJ Tavaréc Tolchard b McVicker10      
*MH Dennessc Higgs b McVicker68      
AGE Ealhamc Booth b Clift29      
JN Shepherdc Clift b Balderstone87      
CJC Rowec Tolchard b Booth11      
RW Hillsb Clift15      
RB Elmsc Illingworth b Balderstone1      
JMH Graham-Brownnot out7      
DM Sayerlbw b Clift2      
Extras(2 b, 2 lb, 5 nb)9
Total(all out, 83.2 overs)255
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-16, 3-46, 4-89, 5-150, 6-211, 7-238, 8-246, 9-246, 10-255 (83.2 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Booth17   3532--
Higgs15   3351--
McVicker14   5592--
Illingworth1   0120--
Birkenshaw1   080--
Steele10   2200--
Balderstone10   7112--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NE Brierslbw b Shepherd4      
JF Steeleb Sayer2      
JC Balderstoneb Johnson33      
BF Davisonc Tavaré b Hills89      
*R Illingworthc Denness b Johnson14      
+RW Tolchardrun out10      
J Birkenshawb Shepherd43      
PB Cliftc Johnson b Shepherd31      
NM McVickerb Hills30      
P Boothnot out7      
K Higgsb Shepherd1      
Extras(7 b, 5 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)14
Total(all out, 90.3 overs)278
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-10, 3-79, 4-119, 5-145, 6-175, 7-216, 8-269, 9-269, 10-278 (90.3 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sayer17   1631--
Hills19   4512--
Johnson23   7632--
Rowe5   1250--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+D Nichollsc Steele b Higgs4      
CJ Tavarélbw b McVicker32      
CJC Rowec Davison b Higgs11      
*MH Dennessc Tolchard b Higgs5      
AGE Ealhamb Clift12      
JN Shepherdb Balderstone38      
RW Hillsb Balderstone14      
GW Johnsonc Tolchard b Clift0      
RB Elmsnot out26      
JMH Graham-Brownb Clift3      
DM Sayerc Higgs b McVicker9      
Extras(4 b, 3 lb, 4 nb, 2 w)13
Total(all out, 62.2 overs)167
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-36, 3-45, 4-55, 5-88, 6-116, 7-121, 8-125, 9-130, 10-167 (62.2 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Booth8   2270--
Higgs13   1373--
Clift15   0453--
Illingworth3   300--
Birkenshaw1   100--
Balderstone13   5142--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NE Brierslbw b Johnson29      
JF Steelec Graham-Brown b Denness60      
JC Balderstoneb Rowe22      
BF Davisonnot out17      
*R Illingworthnot out4      
+RW Tolcharddid not bat      
J Birkenshawdid not bat      
PB Cliftdid not bat      
NM McVickerdid not bat      
P Boothdid not bat      
K Higgsdid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 1 lb, 8 nb)15
Total(3 wickets, 44 overs)147
Fall of wickets:
1-52, 2-106, 3-142
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sayer8   1260--
Hills5   1110--
Johnson7   2131--
Rowe7   3111--
Elms4   0180--
Graham-Brown12   1460--
Denness1   071--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> AGE Ealham (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 23
--> JN Shepherd (2) passed 8500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 24
--> DM Sayer made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> DM Sayer made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> NM McVicker reached 450 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Kent first innings
--> PB Clift reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Kent first innings
--> PB Clift reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Kent first innings
--> K Higgs reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 3rd wicket in the Kent second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive