Hampshire v Worcestershire
County Championship 1976
VenueCounty Ground, Southampton on 7th, 9th August 1976 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossHampshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWorcestershire won by 9 wickets
PointsHampshire 5 (Batting 1, Bowling 4); Worcestershire 16 (Batting 2, Bowling 4)
UmpiresAE Fagg, JG Langridge
ScorersVH Isaacs (Hampshire), A Ross Slater (Worcestershire)
Close of play day 1Worcestershire (1) 158/4 (D'Oliveira 49*, Patel 4*; 58 overs)

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BA Richardsb Imran Khan0     
DJ Rockc Wilcock b Imran Khan4     
DR Turnerlbw b Pridgeon30     
TE Jestyb Imran Khan4     
*RMC Gilliatc Wilcock b Imran Khan55     
AJ Murtaghc D'Oliveira b Boyns22     
NGC Cowleyc Wilcock b Imran Khan3     
JM Riceb Inchmore23     
+GR Stephensonc Patel b Inchmore24     
JW Southernb Imran Khan2     
TJ Mottramnot out3     
Extras(1 b, 3 nb)4
Total(all out, 52.5 overs)174
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-9, 3-31, 4-59, 5-108, 6-119, 7-123, 8-162, 9-167, 10-174 (52.5 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Imran Khan22   2706--
Pridgeon6   0311--
D'Oliveira2   0140--
Boyns5   1131--

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GM Turnerc Stephenson b Jesty24     
JA Ormrodc Stephenson b Jesty30     
PA Nealeb Mottram48     
Imran Khanc Cowley b Rice1     
*BL D'Oliveirac Murtagh b Jesty51     
DN Patelc Rice b Jesty20     
CN Boynsc and b Jesty25     
+HG Wilcockc Gilliat b Jesty13     
JD Inchmoreb Southern14     
N Giffordb Jesty0     
AP Pridgeonnot out2     
Extras(1 b, 4 lb)5
Total(all out, 99.3 overs)233
Fall of wickets:
1-37, 2-70, 3-73, 4-148, 5-165, 6-190, 7-206, 8-225, 9-225, 10-233 (99.3 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mottram23   8451--
Rice12   1481--
Jesty36   12757--
Murtagh4   2230--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DJ Rocklbw b Pridgeon21     
JM Ricec Turner b Imran Khan3     
DR Turnerb Imran Khan17     
TE Jestyc Turner b Gifford13     
*RMC Gilliatc and b Pridgeon4     
AJ Murtaghc Imran Khan b Gifford18     
NGC Cowleyc Wilcock b D'Oliveira4     
+GR Stephensonc Turner b Gifford4     
JW Southernnot out28     
TJ Mottramc Ormrod b Imran Khan9     
BA Richardsabsent hurt
Extras(8 b, 2 lb, 4 nb, 2 w)16
Total(all out, 49.2 overs)137
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-45, 3-49, 4-53, 5-73, 6-86, 7-90, 8-90, 9-137 (49.2 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Imran Khan17.26413--
Inchmore1   020--
Pridgeon15   3432--
D'Oliveira3   081--
Boyns1   040--
Gifford12   5233--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GM Turnernot out54     
JA Ormrodrun out9     
PA Nealenot out16     
Imran Khandid not bat      
*BL D'Oliveiradid not bat      
DN Pateldid not bat      
CN Boynsdid not bat      
+HG Wilcockdid not bat      
JD Inchmoredid not bat      
N Gifforddid not bat      
AP Pridgeondid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb)2
Total(1 wicket, 29.1 overs)81
Fall of wickets:
1-27 (Ormrod)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mottram7   2250--
Jesty4   320--
Cowley8   3350--

--> The match was scheduled for three days but completed in two.
--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> DJ Rock (2) passed his previous highest score of 20 in first-class matches
--> DJ Rock (2) passed his previous highest score of 20 in County Championship matches
--> JW Southern (2) passed his previous highest score of 18 in first-class matches
--> JW Southern (2) passed his previous highest score of 18 in County Championship matches
--> GM Turner (2) passed 11000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 51
--> TE Jesty achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Worcestershire first innings (previous best was 6-40)
--> TE Jesty achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Worcestershire first innings (previous best was 6-40)
--> JW Southern reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Worcestershire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive