Sussex v Worcestershire
County Championship 1976
VenueCounty Ground, Hove on 24th, 26th, 27th July 1976 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWorcestershire won the toss and decided to field
ResultWorcestershire won by 6 wickets
PointsSussex 4 (Batting 1, Bowling 3); Worcestershire 18 (Batting 4, Bowling 4)
UmpiresWL Budd, DGL Evans
Close of play day 1Worcestershire (1) 177/1 (Turner 100*, Senghera 0*)
Close of play day 2Sussex (2) 193/7 (Barclay 79*)

Sussex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JRT Barclayc Turner b Pridgeon11     
JD Morleyc Boyns b Imran Khan12     
RDV Knightc Wilcock b Imran Khan0     
*PJ Gravesc Wilcock b Inchmore17     
MA Bussb Imran Khan28     
PWG Parkerc Wilcock b Imran Khan58     
JJ Groomec Boyns b Pridgeon2     
+A Longc Wilcock b Pridgeon18     
J Spencerc Neale b Boyns3     
CE Wallerb Pridgeon18     
RPT Marshallnot out1     
Extras(13 lb, 12 nb, 2 w)27
Total(all out, 62 overs)195
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-23, 3-27, 4-66, 5-130, 6-146, 7-149, 8-164, 9-192, 10-195 (62 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Imran Khan19   2544--
Inchmore19   3551--
Pridgeon18   6464--
Boyns6   2131--

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Ormrodrun out72     
GM Turnerlbw b Knight150     
R Sengherac Groome b Spencer13     
PA Nealelbw b Spencer11     
Imran Khanc Groome b Knight2     
DN Patelc Long b Knight2     
CN Boynslbw b Spencer4     
+HG Wilcockb Spencer41     
JD Inchmoreb Knight3     
*N Giffordc Buss b Marshall14     
AP Pridgeonnot out0     
Extras(9 lb, 4 nb, 1 w)14
Total(all out, 105.3 overs)326
Fall of wickets:
1-169, 2-207, 3-237, 4-246, 5-257, 6-260, 7-266, 8-277, 9-326, 10-326 (105.3 ov)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Marshall27   4981--
Buss11   3410--
Waller11   0380--
Knight12   2464--

Sussex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JRT Barclayc Ormrod b Inchmore79     
JJ Groomec Boyns b Inchmore9     
RDV Knightc Wilcock b Pridgeon23     
*PJ Gravesc Wilcock b Inchmore1     
PWG Parkerb Gifford12     
MA Bussc Neale b Imran Khan3     
+A Longc Gifford b Imran Khan39     
J Spencer hit wkt b Imran Khan0     
JD Morleynot out34     
CE Wallerc Ormrod b Imran Khan6     
RPT Marshallb Imran Khan6     
Extras(1 b, 3 lb, 29 nb, 1 w)34
Total(all out, 81 overs)246
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-43, 3-44, 4-65, 5-77, 6-189, 7-193, 8-198, 9-231, 10-246 (81 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Imran Khan26   5635--
Inchmore23   6503--
Pridgeon19   3701--
Boyns5   170--
Gifford8   4221--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Ormrodc Long b Spencer45     
GM Turnerc Long b Spencer18     
PA Nealec Barclay b Spencer19     
Imran Khannot out21     
DN Patelb Waller7     
CN Boynsnot out2     
R Sengheradid not bat      
+HG Wilcockdid not bat      
JD Inchmoredid not bat      
*N Gifforddid not bat      
AP Pridgeondid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 1 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)5
Total(4 wickets, 40.1 overs)117
Fall of wickets:
1-37, 2-85, 3-90, 4-105
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Marshall4   0180--
Spencer16   4453--
Buss2   190--
Waller11   4221--
Knight7   2140--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> MA Buss (1) passed 10500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 10
--> PWG Parker (1) passed his previous highest score of 51 in County Championship matches
--> GM Turner (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 30
--> GM Turner (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 30
--> AP Pridgeon reached 50 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Sussex first innings
--> Imran Khan reached 100 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Sussex first innings
--> RDV Knight reached 200 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Worcestershire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive