Leicestershire v Warwickshire
County Championship 1976
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 2nd, 3rd, 4th June 1976 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 50 runs
PointsLeicestershire 17 (Batting 3, Bowling 4); Warwickshire 3 (Batting 1, Bowling 2)
UmpiresWL Budd, A Jepson
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 234/4 (Birkenshaw 5*, Clift 0*; 88 overs)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 55/7 (Balderstone 18*, Booth 0*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonretired hurt37     
JF Steelec Humpage b Rouse17     
JC Balderstoneb Hemmings76     
BF Davisonc Jameson b Rouse79     
*R Illingworthc Perryman b Lewington0     
J Birkenshawnot out14     
PB Cliftb Hemmings2     
+DJ Humphriesnot out2     
NM McVickerdid not bat      
P Boothdid not bat      
K Higgsdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 6 lb, 14 nb, 2 w)24
Total(5 wickets, declared, 95 overs)251
Fall of wickets:
1-31, 2-214, 3-215, 4-234, 5-242
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brown23   5510--
Rouse22   5602--
Perryman15   3400--
Hemmings20   6392--
Lewington15   3371--

Warwickshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Jamesonc Birkenshaw b Higgs0     
DL Amissb Clift91     
J Whitehouseb Booth2     
RB Kanhaib Higgs3     
RN Abberleyrun out19     
+GW Humpagec Birkenshaw b McVicker3     
EE Hemmingsb McVicker0     
SJ Rousec Steele b Higgs11     
*DJ Brownnot out13     
SP Perrymanc Humphries b Booth4     
PJ Lewingtonb Higgs1     
Extras(4 b, 5 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)11
Total(all out, 66.3 overs)158
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-3, 3-6, 4-40, 5-66, 6-66, 7-114, 8-152, 9-157, 10-158 (66.3 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Booth15   3302--
Clift15   6261--
McVicker16   1472--
Illingworth5   280--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JF Steelerun out3     
+DJ Humphriesc Humpage b Rouse9     
JC Balderstonelbw b Perryman29     
BF Davisonc Whitehouse b Rouse5     
*R Illingworthb Perryman5     
J Birkenshawc Humpage b Rouse5     
PB Cliftc Humpage b Rouse0     
NM McVickerc Humpage b Rouse0     
P Boothlbw b Rouse0     
K Higgslbw b Brown9     
B Dudlestonnot out6     
Extras(2 lb, 9 nb, 2 w)13
Total(all out, 52 overs)84
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-18, 3-29, 4-41, 5-46, 6-51, 7-55, 8-56, 9-73, 10-84 (52 ov)
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brown17   4221--
Rouse25   14346--
Perryman10   2152--

Warwickshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Jamesonlbw b Higgs4     
DL Amissb Booth18     
J Whitehousenot out61     
RB Kanhaic Davison b Booth3     
RN Abberleyc Birkenshaw b Higgs6     
+GW Humpagelbw b Booth20     
EE Hemmingsc Humphries b McVicker5     
SJ Rousec Humphries b McVicker0     
*DJ Brownlbw b Higgs6     
SP Perrymanc sub b McVicker0     
PJ Lewingtonc Higgs b McVicker0     
Extras(3 lb, 1 w)4
Total(all out, 67.2 overs)127
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-23, 3-31, 4-46, 5-83, 6-111, 7-117, 8-126, 9-127, 10-127 (67.2 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Higgs18   9293--
Booth13   1413--
Clift14   6250--
Illingworth8   470--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> JC Balderstone (1) passed 5500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 23
--> DL Amiss (1) passed 13000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 71
--> SJ Rouse achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Leicestershire second innings (previous best was 5-47)
--> SJ Rouse reached 150 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Leicestershire second innings
--> SJ Rouse achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Leicestershire second innings (previous best was 5-47)
--> P Booth achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Warwickshire second innings (previous best was 3-57)
--> B Dudleston retired hurt in the Leicestershire first innings having scored 37 (team had lost 1 wickets)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive