Derbyshire v Leicestershire
County Championship 1975
VenueQueen's Park, Chesterfield on 13th, 15th, 16th September 1975 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 135 runs
PointsDerbyshire 6 (Batting 2, Bowling 4); Leicestershire 16 (Batting 2, Bowling 4)
UmpiresA Jepson, WE Phillipson
Close of play day 1Derbyshire (1) 41/0 (Bolus 12*, Sharpe 26*)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 108/5 (Balderstone 51*, RW Tolchard 0*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonc JM Ward b Russell15      
JF Steelec Hill b Hendrick7      
JC Balderstoneb A Ward6      
BF Davisonc Hendrick b Russell4      
*R Illingworthc Russell b A Ward22      
+RW Tolchardc Hendrick b Russell0      
JG Tolchardc Harvey-Walker b Hendrick36      
J Birkenshawc Taylor b Russell37      
NM McVickerc Taylor b Hendrick18      
GD McKenzienot out44      
K Higgsb Miller10      
Extras(7 lb, 20 nb)27
Total(all out, 85.4 overs)226
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-36, 3-38, 4-41, 5-49, 6-77, 7-144, 8-146, 9-189, 10-226 (85.4 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hendrick26   5703--
A Ward27   5692--
Russell28   8514--
Swarbrook1   020--

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JB Boluslbw b McVicker30      
PJ Sharpec Steele b McVicker38      
AJ Harvey-Walkerc Davison b Illingworth13      
A Hillst RW Tolchard b Balderstone42      
JM Wardb Illingworth25      
FW Swarbrooklbw b Illingworth0      
G Millerc Balderstone b McKenzie12      
*+RW Taylorc Davison b Illingworth23      
PE Russellc RW Tolchard b McVicker4      
A Wardlbw b McVicker0      
M Hendricknot out13      
Extras(4 lb, 7 nb)11
Total(all out, 98.3 overs)211
Fall of wickets:
1-70, 2-85, 3-87, 4-138, 5-148, 6-169, 7-176, 8-181, 9-181, 10-211 (98.3 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie15   4371--
Higgs12   2440--
McVicker30   7564--
Balderstone9   3131--
Steele5   320--
Birkenshaw8   2170--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonc Taylor b A Ward0      
JF Steelec Taylor b A Ward4      
JC Balderstonerun out116      
BF Davisonst Taylor b Swarbrook30      
*R Illingworthc Sharpe b Swarbrook16      
JG Tolchardb Miller0      
+RW Tolchardnot out65      
NM McVickernot out9      
J Birkenshawdid not bat      
GD McKenziedid not bat      
K Higgsdid not bat      
Extras(10 b, 5 lb, 5 nb)20
Total(6 wickets, declared, 90 overs)260
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-8, 3-72, 4-73, 5-102, 6-244
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hendrick14   4220--
A Ward12   1412--
Russell13   2300--
Miller23   4791--
Swarbrook28   9682--

Derbyshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JB Bolusc RW Tolchard b McKenzie21      
PJ Sharpec RW Tolchard b McVicker7      
AJ Harvey-Walkerc Higgs b McVicker9      
A Hillc and b Balderstone32      
JM Wardc Birkenshaw b Steele7      
FW Swarbrooklbw b Illingworth37      
G Millerc McKenzie b Balderstone8      
*+RW Taylorc Illingworth b Balderstone11      
PE Russellb McVicker3      
A Wardc RW Tolchard b McKenzie0      
M Hendricknot out0      
Extras(2 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)5
Total(all out, 68.3 overs)140
Fall of wickets:
1-17, 2-42, 3-46, 4-63, 5-116, 6-118, 7-133, 8-136, 9-140, 10-140 (68.3 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie11   3262--
McVicker14   7323--
Illingworth14   9141--
Steele8   3241--
Birkenshaw5   2110--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> GD McKenzie made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> GD McKenzie made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> JB Bolus made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> JB Bolus made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> JM Ward made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> JM Ward made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> R Illingworth reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 4th wicket in the Derbyshire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive