Northamptonshire v Leicestershire
County Championship 1975
VenueCounty Ground, Northampton on 23rd, 25th, 26th August 1975 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 9 wickets
PointsNorthamptonshire 5 (Batting 1, Bowling 4); Leicestershire 15 (Batting 1, Bowling 4)
UmpiresR Julian, DO Oslear
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 84/7 (Illingworth 20*, McVicker 9*; 36 overs)
Close of play day 2Northamptonshire (2) 157/6 (Williams 6*)

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RT Virginb McVicker9     
G Cookc Dudleston b Steele26     
DS Steelest Tolchard b Steele46     
*Mushtaq Mohammadc Dudleston b Illingworth39     
P Willeylbw b McVicker20     
RG Williamsb Steele1     
+G Sharplbw b McVicker11     
Sarfraz Nawazc and b Steele0     
A Hodgsonc Tolchard b Steele1     
BS Bedinot out5     
JCJ Dyec and b Steele6     
Extras(4 lb, 1 nb, 2 w)7
Total(all out, 87.1 overs)171
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-53, 3-101, 4-144, 5-148, 6-150, 7-158, 8-160, 9-160, 10-171 (87.1 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Booth10   3180--
Higgs18   8300--
McVicker24   9463--
Birkenshaw3   040--
Illingworth9   1331--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonlbw b Sarfraz Nawaz0     
JF Steelec Sharp b Sarfraz Nawaz24     
JC Balderstonerun out7     
BF Davisonc Sharp b Bedi5     
*R Illingworthnot out73     
+RW Tolchardrun out0     
DI Gowerc Sarfraz Nawaz b Bedi0     
J Birkenshawc sub b Bedi6     
NM McVickerc Virgin b Dye51     
P Boothc Cook b Willey3     
K Higgsb Mushtaq Mohammad11     
Extras(10 lb, 5 nb)15
Total(all out, 86.1 overs)195
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-23, 3-42, 4-49, 5-49, 6-51, 7-65, 8-151, 9-160, 10-195 (86.1 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sarfraz Nawaz22   4522--
Dye13   3321--
Bedi32   14553--
Hodgson3   160--
Mushtaq Mohammad12.16211--
Willey4   1141--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RT Virginc Tolchard b Higgs3     
G Cookc Higgs b Steele14     
DS Steelest Tolchard b Illingworth60     
*Mushtaq Mohammadb Birkenshaw22     
P Willeyc Dudleston b Illingworth27     
RG Williamsc Dudleston b Illingworth10     
+G Sharpb Steele6     
Sarfraz Nawazc Higgs b Steele0     
A Hodgsonc and b Illingworth9     
BS Bedic and b Illingworth5     
JCJ Dyenot out0     
Extras(10 b, 9 lb)19
Total(all out, 93.2 overs)175
Fall of wickets:
1-3, 2-43, 3-78, 4-138, 5-150, 6-157, 7-161, 8-166, 9-174, 10-175 (93.2 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Booth7   2250--
Higgs7   291--
McVicker4   260--
Steele24   7503--
Birkenshaw9   2141--
Balderstone21   6320--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JF Steelenot out67     
DI Gowerc Virgin b Willey21     
JC Balderstonenot out58     
B Dudlestondid not bat      
BF Davisondid not bat      
*R Illingworthdid not bat      
+RW Tolcharddid not bat      
J Birkenshawdid not bat      
NM McVickerdid not bat      
P Boothdid not bat      
K Higgsdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 5 lb, 2 nb)8
Total(1 wicket, 56.4 overs)154
Fall of wickets:
1-35 (Gower)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sarfraz Nawaz4   1110--
Dye2   040--
Bedi23   5490--
Hodgson5   0190--
Mushtaq Mohammad6.41260--
Willey10   2231--
Steele6   4140--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> DS Steele (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 13
--> DS Steele (1) passed 12000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 28
--> G Sharp (1) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 4
--> JF Steele (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 7
--> JC Balderstone (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 16
--> JC Balderstone (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 25
--> JF Steele achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Northamptonshire first innings (previous best was 5-15)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive