House of Lords v House of Commons
Other matches in England 1872
VenuePrince's Cricket Ground, Chelsea on 22nd June 1872 (1-day match)
Balls per over4
TossToss not known
ResultMatch drawn

House of Lords first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
E of Coventryst Lyttelton b Smith-Barry22     
Lord Ellesmereb Straight8     
Earl of Lanesboroughc Carnegie b Smith-Barry8     
V Massereenec Straight b Smith-Barry1     
E of Eldonc sub b Hamilton4     
M of Queensburyc Bowmont b Smith-Barry15     
Lord Ellesmereb Hamilton0     
Scottb Smith-Barry47     
B Pauncefotenot out16     
E of Gosfordabsent
Lord Willoughby de Brokeabsent
Extras(4 b, 1 lb)5
Total(all out)126
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-126
House of Commons bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

House of Commons first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CG Lytteltonb Lanesborough47     
C Carnegiec sub (Skelmersdale) b of Coventry11     
AH Smith-Barryc Massereene b of Coventry16     
HR Brandc Lord Ellesmere b of Coventry62     
Lord GF Hamiltonb of Queensbury6     
Marquis of Bowmontb Lanesborough5     
A Ricardost +sub (Smith-Barry) b of Coventry35     
V Buryc and b of Coventry3     
A Guestnot out3     
D Straightabsent
H Bruenabsent
Extras(3 b, 1 lb, 8 w)12
Total(all out)200
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-200
House of Lords bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
of Coventry???5--
of Queensbury???1--

--> House of Lords full substitute: Lord Ellesmere for Marquis of Ormonde
--> Lord Ellesmere was allowed to bat twice (Lord Ellesmere allowed to bat twice as the Marquis of Ormonde was absent)

In the House of Lords first innings The Earl of Ellesmere batted twice taking the place of the Marquis of Ormonde who was absent
The number of absentees in this match seems to have highlighted the difficulty of getting these teams together and the fixture was afterwards dropped from the itinerary





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive