Transvaal v South African Universities
South African Universities Cricket Week 1974/75
VenueNew Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg on 7th, 9th, 10th December 1974 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultTransvaal won by 9 wickets
UmpiresEJ Freedman, D Reichman
Close of play day 1Transvaal (1) 44/1 (Kerr 7*, Cook 10*)
Close of play day 2South African Universities (2) 20/0 (Kuiper 9*, de Vaal 7*)

South African Universities first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JL Kuiperb Neilson0     
*PD de Vaalb van der Knaap20     
MG Mathewsc Dinsdale b van der Knaap27     
MJ Nelb van der Knaap16     
CA Gielbw b Flanagan3     
RLS Armitagec Cook b van der Knaap34     
GS Cowleyc and b van der Knaap31     
KA Barlowb Kerr53 12061 
DP Cameronlbw b Kerr0     
+JW Stephensonc Irvine b Neilson4643 52 
BP Moorenot out11     
Extras(4 b, 9 lb, 1 nb)14
Total(all out, 99 overs)255
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-43, 3-54, 4-68, 5-68, 6-124, 7-141, 8-141, 9-223, 10-255 (99 ov)
Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Neilson20   2692--
Hubbard12   4250--
Flanagan19   6401--
van der Knaap27   13615--

Transvaal first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SC Dinsdalec Barlow b Cameron11     
DR Lindsay-Smithlbw b Cowley70     
WR Kerrc Stephenson b Moore17     
SJ Cookc Gie b Cowley86     
KA McKenzielbw b Armitage99     
NG Featherstonelbw b Barlow46     
JPD Flanagannot out11     
*+BL Irvinedid not bat      
AN Hubbarddid not bat      
DR Neilsondid not bat      
DS van der Knaapdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 6 lb, 1 nb, 2 w)11
Total(6 wickets, declared, 115.1 overs)351
Fall of wickets:
1-28, 2-73, 3-184, 4-209, 5-300, 6-351 (115.1 ov)
South African Universities bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cameron23   1791--
Moore17   3591--
Barlow31   7631--
Cowley20   3712--
de Vaal11   2350--

South African Universities second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JL Kuiperc Irvine b Flanagan9     
*PD de Vaalc Flanagan b Hubbard32     
MG Mathewsc Lindsay-Smith b Kerr7     
MJ Nellbw b Hubbard16     
CA Gielbw b Flanagan38     
RLS Armitagelbw b Kerr63     
GS Cowleyc Irvine b Neilson20     
KA Barlowc Irvine b Neilson7     
DP Cameronnot out8     
+JW Stephensonc Featherstone b Neilson5     
BP Moorelbw b Neilson0     
Extras(4 b, 3 lb, 2 w)9
Total(all out, 102.4 overs)214
Fall of wickets:
1-24, 2-45, 3-65, 4-72, 5-134, 6-183, 7-197, 8-201, 9-214, 10-214 (102.4 ov)
Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hubbard17   9212--
Flanagan20   6442--
van der Knaap16   8320--
Kerr32   14642--
Dinsdale4   190--

Transvaal second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*+BL Irvinenot out79     
DR Lindsay-Smithlbw b Barlow23     
NG Featherstonenot out11     
SC Dinsdaledid not bat      
WR Kerrdid not bat      
SJ Cookdid not bat      
KA McKenziedid not bat      
JPD Flanagandid not bat      
AN Hubbarddid not bat      
DR Neilsondid not bat      
DS van der Knaapdid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 3 lb)6
Total(1 wicket, 20.1 overs)119
Fall of wickets:
1-59 (Lindsay-Smith)
South African Universities bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cameron10   0500--
Moore5   0240--
Barlow4   0301--
de Vaal1   070--

--> JL Kuiper made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> PD de Vaal (1) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 20
--> RLS Armitage (1) passed his previous highest score of 22 in first-class matches
--> KA Barlow (1) passed his previous highest score of 43 in first-class matches
--> JW Stephenson (1) passed his previous highest score of 10 in first-class matches
--> RLS Armitage (2) passed his previous highest score of 34 in first-class matches
--> DR Lindsay-Smith (2) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 21
--> AN Hubbard made his debut for Transvaal in first-class matches
--> DS van der Knaap reached 50 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the South African Universities first innings
--> DR Lindsay-Smith retired hurt in the Transvaal first innings having scored 15 (team had lost 0 wickets) - he returned when the score was 73/2





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive