Somerset v Northamptonshire
County Championship 1974
VenueCounty Ground, Taunton on 5th, 6th, 7th June 1974 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultMatch drawn
PointsSomerset 6 (Batting 2, Bowling 4); Northamptonshire 5 (Batting 1, Bowling 4)
UmpiresA Jepson, H Yarnold
Close of play day 1Northamptonshire (1) 37/0 (Virgin 14*, Willey 22*)
Close of play day 2Somerset (2) 146/6 (Taylor 1*)

Somerset first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MJ Kitchenc Mushtaq Mohammad b Sarfraz Nawaz34     
*DB Closec Sharp b Griffiths32     
PW Denningc Sharp b Sarfraz Nawaz25     
IVA Richardsc Sharp b Watts1     
JM Parksc Steele b Dye6     
GI Burgessc Larkins b Dye8     
TW Cartwrightlbw b Dye24     
D Breakwellb Sarfraz Nawaz23     
+DJS Taylorc Sharp b Sarfraz Nawaz0     
HR Moseleynot out15     
AA Jonesc Cook b Sarfraz Nawaz27     
Extras(4 b, 4 lb, 2 nb, 3 w)13
Total(all out, 72.1 overs)208
Fall of wickets:
1-67, 2-85, 3-86, 4-108, 5-112, 6-124, 7-163, 8-165, 9-166, 10-208 (72.1 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Dye23   7523--
Sarfraz Nawaz25.15735--
Griffiths14   4521--
Watts10   4181--

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RT Virginc Taylor b Jones14     
P Willeyc Breakwell b Jones26     
DS Steelec Moseley b Jones8     
Mushtaq Mohammadb Jones10     
G Cookc Close b Cartwright14     
*PJ Wattsc Denning b Cartwright52     
W Larkinsc Burgess b Jones15     
Sarfraz Nawazc Richards b Jones38     
+G Sharpc Richards b Cartwright1     
BJ Griffithsst Taylor b Cartwright6     
JCJ Dyenot out0     
Extras(1 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)3
Total(all out, 75.1 overs)187
Fall of wickets:
1-40, 2-49, 3-49, 4-68, 5-86, 6-142, 7-154, 8-166, 9-183, 10-187 (75.1 ov)
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Moseley14   3400--
Cartwright30   20454--
Burgess5   1190--

Somerset second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MJ Kitchenb Griffiths22     
*DB Closec Sharp b Griffiths1     
PW Denningc Sharp b Sarfraz Nawaz20     
IVA Richardsc Sharp b Sarfraz Nawaz62     
JM Parksb Dye31     
GI Burgessc Cook b Griffiths5     
+DJS Taylorc Larkins b Sarfraz Nawaz30     
TW Cartwrightc Griffiths b Mushtaq Mohammad24     
D Breakwellc Dye b Mushtaq Mohammad25     
HR Moseleynot out0     
AA Jonesb Sarfraz Nawaz0     
Extras(1 b, 8 lb, 5 nb, 1 w)15
Total(all out, 71.5 overs)235
Fall of wickets:
1-27, 2-103, 3-108, 4-136, 5-138, 6-146, 7-193, 8-230, 9-235, 10-235 (71.5 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Dye22   7531--
Sarfraz Nawaz24.58684--
Griffiths15   2593--
Steele4   1130--
Mushtaq Mohammad6   2272--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RT Virginb Burgess24     
P Willeyc Taylor b Moseley2     
DS Steelenot out81     
Mushtaq Mohammadc Parks b Burgess6     
G Cookc Taylor b Jones22     
*PJ Wattsc Richards b Moseley11     
W Larkinsnot out3     
Sarfraz Nawazdid not bat      
+G Sharpdid not bat      
BJ Griffithsdid not bat      
JCJ Dyedid not bat      
Extras(8 lb, 6 nb)14
Total(5 wickets, 69 overs)163
Fall of wickets:
1-17, 2-60, 3-70, 4-128, 5-151
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jones16   3481--
Moseley17   3562--
Cartwright22   11270--
Burgess14   4182--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> BJ Griffiths made his debut in first-class matches
--> BJ Griffiths made his debut in County Championship matches
--> D Breakwell (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 4
--> AA Jones (1) passed his previous highest score of 25 in County Championship matches
--> AA Jones (1) passed his previous highest score of 25 in first-class matches
--> G Cook (2) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 18
--> HR Moseley reached 150 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Northamptonshire second innings
--> GI Burgess reached 300 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Northamptonshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive