Leicestershire v Gloucestershire
County Championship 1974
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 1st, 3rd, 4th June 1974 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGloucestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 5 wickets
PointsLeicestershire 17 (Batting 3, Bowling 4); Gloucestershire 5 (Batting 3, Bowling 2)
UmpiresC Cook, AEG Rhodes
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 65/1 (Dudleston 27*, Balderstone 28*; 25 overs)
Close of play day 2Gloucestershire (2) 129/5 (Procter 65*, Brown 12*)

Gloucestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
Sadiq Mohammadc McVicker b Birkenshaw88      
CA Miltonc Illingworth b Birkenshaw25      
RDV Knightc Davison b Illingworth17      
MJ Procterc and b Birkenshaw5      
Zaheer Abbasc Dudleston b Birkenshaw11      
DR Shepherdb Illingworth53      
*AS Brownc RW Tolchard b Balderstone9      
DA Graveneynot out50      
+R Swetmanb Balderstone4      
JB Mortimoreb Birkenshaw5      
J Daveynot out1      
Extras(9 lb, 1 nb)10
Total(9 wickets, innings closed, 100 overs)278
Fall of wickets:
1-63, 2-116, 3-127, 4-142, 5-165, 6-183, 7-245, 8-258, 9-275
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Higgs11   2260--
McVicker8   2220--
Spencer7   0220--
Birkenshaw28   8665--
Illingworth22   5612--
Balderstone12   2372--
Steele12   2340--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonc Sadiq Mohammad b Graveney105      
JF Steelec Zaheer Abbas b Davey10      
JC Balderstoneb Mortimore28      
BF Davisonst Swetman b Graveney52      
JG Tolchardc Procter b Sadiq Mohammad13      
+RW Tolchardlbw b Graveney16      
J Birkenshawnot out39      
*R Illingworthnot out16      
NM McVickerdid not bat      
K Higgsdid not bat      
CT Spencerdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 4 lb)5
Total(6 wickets, innings closed, 100 overs)284
Fall of wickets:
1-28, 2-69, 3-166, 4-196, 5-229, 6-242
Gloucestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Procter8   2260--
Davey7   2131--
Mortimore40   91001--
Graveney36   101073--
Sadiq Mohammad9   2331--

Gloucestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
Sadiq Mohammadlbw b Birkenshaw14      
CA Miltonb Illingworth14      
RDV Knightc Balderstone b Birkenshaw0      
MJ Procterb Illingworth102      
Zaheer Abbasc Davison b Illingworth15      
DR Shepherdc Dudleston b Birkenshaw1      
*AS Brownc Higgs b Balderstone34      
DA Graveneyb Birkenshaw5      
+R Swetmanlbw b Illingworth6      
JB Mortimorenot out18      
J Daveyb Illingworth0      
Extras(4 b, 11 lb)15
Total(all out, 92.5 overs)224
Fall of wickets:
1-28, 2-28, 3-40, 4-86, 5-99, 6-188, 7-188, 8-199, 9-217, 10-224 (92.5 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Higgs4   1100--
McVicker4   180--
Birkenshaw23   6644--
Balderstone12   4261--
Steele16   7380--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonc Milton b Graveney18      
JF Steelenot out74      
JC Balderstoneb Sadiq Mohammad54      
BF Davisonb Brown37      
J Birkenshawb Brown0      
*R Illingworthc Brown b Graveney8      
+RW Tolchardnot out7      
JG Tolcharddid not bat      
NM McVickerdid not bat      
K Higgsdid not bat      
CT Spencerdid not bat      
Extras(13 b, 8 lb)21
Total(5 wickets, 74.4 overs)219
Fall of wickets:
1-20, 2-119, 3-175, 4-175, 5-204
Gloucestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Procter8   1290--
Davey2   140--
Mortimore20   6500--
Sadiq Mohammad6   0221--
Brown12   2212--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> DA Graveney (1) passed his previous highest score of 32 in County Championship matches
--> DA Graveney (1) passed his previous highest score of 49 in first-class matches
--> B Dudleston (1) passed 7500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 28
--> JC Balderstone (1) passed 3000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 21
--> J Birkenshaw reached 650 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 5th wicket in the Gloucestershire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive