Surrey v Leicestershire
County Championship 1973
VenueKennington Oval, Kennington on 6th, 7th, 8th June 1973 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSurrey won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsSurrey 5 (Batting 1, Bowling 4); Leicestershire 9 (Batting 4, Bowling 5)
UmpiresAE Fagg, RT Wilson
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 64/3 (Balderstone 29*, JG Tolchard 1*)
Close of play day 2Surrey (2) 103/3 (Howarth 36*, Owen-Thomas 1*)

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*JH Edrichc RW Tolchard b Higgs14      
RM Lewisc Steele b McKenzie4      
GP Howarthlbw b McKenzie29      
Younis Ahmedlbw b Birkenshaw37      
DR Owen-Thomasc Birkenshaw b Higgs7      
SJ Storeyc Dudleston b Balderstone67      
Intikhab Alamc McKenzie b Birkenshaw0      
+A Longc JG Tolchard b Balderstone20      
RD Jackmanc Balderstone b Steele1      
CE Wallernot out12      
RP Bakerb McKenzie1      
Extras(5 lb, 2 nb)7
Total(all out, 84.2 overs)199
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-22, 3-85, 4-85, 5-132, 6-137, 7-174, 8-179, 9-194, 10-199 (84.2 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Higgs14   3242--
Spencer10   3230--
Birkenshaw26   7672--
Steele9   2171--
Davison2   180--
Balderstone6   0152--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonc Long b Baker10      
JF Steeleb Intikhab Alam21      
JC Balderstoneb Jackman33      
*+RW Tolchardb Intikhab Alam0      
JG Tolchardlbw b Jackman8      
BF Davisonc Howarth b Baker100      
PR Haywoodc Long b Jackman0      
J Birkenshawc Owen-Thomas b Baker75      
K Higgsc Lewis b Waller1      
GD McKenziec Lewis b Baker1      
CT Spencernot out9      
Extras(1 b, 8 lb, 4 nb)13
Total(all out, 88.1 overs)271
Fall of wickets:
1-20, 2-54, 3-54, 4-70, 5-81, 6-103, 7-226, 8-227, 9-240, 10-271 (88.1 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jackman23   3773--
Storey16   7260--
Intikhab Alam23   6702--
Waller14   1501--

Surrey second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*JH Edrichc McKenzie b Balderstone24      
RM Lewisb Balderstone7      
GP Howarthnot out156      
Younis Ahmedb Steele31      
DR Owen-Thomasb McKenzie4      
SJ Storeyc RW Tolchard b Balderstone30      
Intikhab Alamlbw b Balderstone0      
+A Longlbw b Birkenshaw17      
RD Jackmannot out37      
CE Wallerdid not bat      
RP Bakerdid not bat      
Extras(6 lb, 5 nb, 1 w)12
Total(7 wickets, declared, 118 overs)318
Fall of wickets:
1-32, 2-33, 3-101, 4-114, 5-172, 6-172, 7-219
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie19   5691--
Higgs15   5310--
Spencer8   2250--
Birkenshaw31   8641--
Steele20   9311--
Balderstone25   6864--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonnot out62      
JF Steeleb Jackman7      
JC Balderstoneb Baker27      
BF Davisonb Baker16      
*+RW Tolchardnot out7      
JG Tolcharddid not bat      
PR Haywooddid not bat      
J Birkenshawdid not bat      
K Higgsdid not bat      
GD McKenziedid not bat      
CT Spencerdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 4 lb, 1 nb)9
Total(3 wickets, 35 overs)128
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-74, 3-94
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jackman4   0181--
Baker8   1232--
Intikhab Alam13   3410--
Waller6   0270--
Howarth3   080--
Younis Ahmed1   020--

--> SJ Storey (1) passed 9000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 18
--> RP Baker made his debut in County Championship matches
--> BF Davison (1) passed 4500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 79
--> GP Howarth (2) passed his previous highest score of 55 in County Championship matches
--> GP Howarth (2) made his first century in County Championship matches
--> GP Howarth (2) passed his previous highest score of 55 in first-class matches
--> GP Howarth (2) made his first century in first-class matches
--> JC Balderstone (2) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 23
--> RP Baker achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Leicestershire first innings (previous best was 0-17)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive