Somerset v Essex
County Championship 1972
VenueRecreation Ground, Bath on 24th, 26th, 27th June 1972 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSomerset won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsSomerset 4 (Batting 2, Bowling 2); Essex 2 (Bowling 2)
UmpiresJ Arnold, HD Bird
Close of play day 1Somerset (1) 219/4 (Burgess 35*, Denning 8*)
Close of play day 2Essex (1) 139/5 (Fletcher 50*, Turner 2*)

Somerset first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RT Virginb Hobbs81     
MJ Kitchenc Taylor b Turner50     
SG Wilkinsonc Boyce b Turner3     
*DB Closec Boyce b Acfield30     
GI Burgessc Fletcher b Turner63     
PW Denninglbw b Turner35     
TW Cartwrightc Fletcher b Turner15     
KJ O'Keeffenot out11     
BA Langfordnot out5     
+DJS Taylordid not bat      
AA Jonesdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 9 lb, 8 nb)18
Total(7 wickets, declared, 116 overs)311
Fall of wickets:
1-78, 2-88, 3-139, 4-186, 5-265, 6-287, 7-292
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Boyce23   2760--
Lever20   4560--
Turner26   5655--
East12   3330--
Acfield23   9341--
Hobbs12   4291--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BEA Edmeadesc Burgess b Cartwright52     
GJ Savillec O'Keeffe b Cartwright9     
KWR Fletchernot out50     
B Wardlbw b Cartwright6     
KD Boycelbw b Cartwright0     
*+B Taylorc Virgin b O'Keeffe8     
S Turnernot out2     
RNS Hobbsdid not bat      
RE Eastdid not bat      
JK Leverdid not bat      
DL Acfielddid not bat      
Extras(12 b)12
Total(5 wickets, 63.2 overs)139
Fall of wickets:
1-31, 2-90, 3-104, 4-108, 5-121
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Burgess6   2130--
Cartwright28   13524--
O'Keeffe20   8351--
Langford4   080--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> KJ O'Keeffe (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 9
--> B Ward (1) passed 4000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 3





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive