Worcestershire v Leicestershire
Benson and Hedges Cup 1972 (Midland Group)
VenueCounty Ground, New Road, Worcester on 3rd June 1972 (55-over match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 56 runs
PointsWorcestershire 0; Leicestershire 4 (Bonus 1)
UmpiresJF Crapp, KE Palmer

Leicestershire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
B Dudlestonrun out32     
MEJC Normanb Carter37     
+RW Tolchardc Ormrod b Hemsley12     
BF Davisonlbw b Carter1     
*R Illingworthlbw b Cumbes22     
PR Haywoodc Wilcock b Cumbes24     
JF Steelec Parker b Hemsley8     
J Birkenshawnot out35     
GD McKenzielbw b Holder4     
K Higgsnot out8     
CT Spencerdid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 5 lb, 1 nb, 7 w)19
Total(8 wickets, innings closed, 55 overs)202
Fall of wickets:
1-73, 2-81, 3-82, 4-99, 5-136, 6-153, 7-153, 8-172
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Holder11   3291--66.002.64
Carter11   3372--33.003.36
Cumbes11   0392--33.003.55
D'Oliveira11   2220---2.00
Hemsley11   1562--33.005.09

Worcestershire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
GM Turnerc McKenzie b Illingworth20     
JM Parkerrun out27     
JA Ormrodc Tolchard b Illingworth5     
EJO Hemsleyb Steele2     
BL D'Oliveirab Davison52     
TJ Yardleyc Illingworth b Birkenshaw26     
+HG Wilcockc Tolchard b McKenzie3     
*N Giffordb McKenzie3     
VA Holderc Davison b McKenzie1     
J Cumbesnot out0     
RGM Carterb McKenzie0     
Extras(6 lb, 1 nb)7
Total(all out, 47 overs)146
Fall of wickets:
1-40, 2-45, 3-48, 4-76, 5-128, 6-142, 7-142, 8-146, 9-146, 10-146 (47 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
McKenzie7   4124--10.501.71
Higgs8   1310---3.88
Steele11   3221--66.002.00
Illingworth11   5202--33.001.82
Spencer2   0150---7.50
Birkenshaw4   0201--24.005.00
Davison4   0191--24.004.75

--> R Illingworth passed 1000 runs in ListA matches when he reached 5
--> BL D'Oliveira passed 1000 runs in ListA matches when he reached 21
--> GD McKenzie took a hat-trick in the Worcestershire innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive