Lancashire v Derbyshire
Benson and Hedges Cup 1972 (North Group)
VenueOld Trafford, Manchester on 6th, 8th May 1972 (55-over match)
Balls per over6
TossLancashire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLancashire won by 29 runs
PointsLancashire 3; Derbyshire 0
UmpiresHD Bird, TW Spencer
Close of play day 1Derbyshire 11/0 (Gibbs 3*, Hall 5*; 6 overs)
Man of the MatchB Wood

Lancashire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
D Lloydb Buxton8     
B Woodc Taylor b Wilkins56     
H Pillingst Taylor b Buxton4     
CH Lloydlbw b Rumsey6     
J Sullivanb Russell41     
+FM Engineerrun out4     
*JD Bondc Harvey b Rumsey2     
DP Hughesb Russell24     
J Simmonsc Buxton b Ward2     
P Levernot out10     
K Shuttleworthc Harvey b Buxton5     
Extras(1 lb, 10 nb, 1 w)12
Total(all out, 54.2 overs)174
Fall of wickets:
1-31, 2-45, 3-70, 4-88, 5-94, 6-121, 7-143, 8-156, 9-167, 10-174 (54.2 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Ward11   2291--66.002.64
Rumsey11   3382--33.003.45
Wilkins11   5131--66.001.18
Russell11   4342--33.003.09

Derbyshire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
PJK Gibbsc Engineer b Hughes15     
IW Hallc CH Lloyd b Wood32     
MH Pagec Lever b Hughes6     
CP Wilkinsc CH Lloyd b Wood4     
JF Harveyb Wood8     
AJ Harvey-Walkerb Shuttleworth43     
*IR Buxtonb Wood11     
+RW Taylorc Simmons b Lever4     
PE Russellnot out17     
A Wardnot out0     
FE Rumseydid not bat      
Extras(4 lb, 1 w)5
Total(8 wickets, innings closed, 55 overs)145
Fall of wickets:
1-40, 2-52, 3-56, 4-68, 5-70, 6-101, 7-119, 8-129
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Lever11   4231--66.002.09
Shuttleworth11   3271--66.002.45
Simmons11   3290---2.64
Hughes11   0272--33.002.45
Wood11   2344--16.503.09

--> The match was scheduled for one day but extended to two.
--> B Wood reached 50 wickets in ListA matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Derbyshire innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive