West Zone v South Zone
Duleep Trophy 1970/71 (Semi-Final)
VenueBrabourne Stadium, Bombay on 2nd, 3rd, 4th January 1971 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWest Zone won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresSK Banerjee, HP Sharma
Close of play day 1South Zone (1) 246/6 (Jayantilal 118*, Venkataraghavan 4*)
Close of play day 2West Zone (1) 101/6 (Kanitkar 20*)

South Zone first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HK Jayantilalc Mehta b VN Joshi134 38021- 
AA Baigb Hatteea4     
PK Belliappac Sardesai b Mankad62 2148- 
GR Viswanathc Gupte b Patel14     
Nawab of Pataudilbw b Hatteea19     
ML Jaisimhalbw b Hatteea9     
S Abid Alist Kanitkar b VN Joshi8     
*S Venkataraghavanb Solkar23     
+P Krishnamurthyc Patel b Solkar53     
DD Govindrajc Solkar b Mankad21     
VV Kumarnot out10     
Total(all out, 139.1 overs)371
Fall of wickets:
1-13, 2-62, 3-188, 4-212, 5-229, 6-240, 7-278, 8-293, 9-336, 10-371 (139.1 ov)
West Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hatteea36   81173--
Patel13   1541--
UC Joshi24   13250--
VN Joshi30   8902--
Mankad8   1282--
Mehta4   190--

West Zone first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MS Guptelbw b Abid Ali8     
NM Mehtalbw b Abid Ali1     
AV Mankadc Abid Ali b Govindraj1     
*CG Bordec Abid Ali b Govindraj41     
DN Sardesaic Venkataraghavan b Abid Ali22     
ED Solkarc Viswanath b Abid Ali14     
+HS Kanitkarlbw b Abid Ali31     
VN Joshist Krishnamurthy b Kumar18     
UC Joshic Govindraj b Jaisimha25     
JR Patelnot out22     
SA Hatteeac Pataudi b Jaisimha0     
Total(all out, 67.2 overs)186
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-10, 3-10, 4-51, 5-69, 6-107, 7-135, 8-141, 9-186, 10-186 (67.2 ov)
South Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Govindraj15   3582--
Abid Ali23   5655--
Kumar17   6371--
Venkataraghavan11   4230--

South Zone second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HK Jayantilalc Kanitkar b Patel22     
AA Baigb VN Joshi33     
ML Jaisimhac Solkar b VN Joshi18     
PK Belliappac Mankad b VN Joshi2     
Nawab of Pataudinot out14     
GR Viswanathb VN Joshi0     
S Abid Alinot out12     
*S Venkataraghavandid not bat      
+P Krishnamurthydid not bat      
DD Govindrajdid not bat      
VV Kumardid not bat      
Total(5 wickets, declared, 37 overs)102
Fall of wickets:
1-34, 2-64, 3-74, 4-76, 5-76
West Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hatteea6   0360--
Patel8   2151--
VN Joshi13   2344--
Solkar7   3100--
UC Joshi3   060--

West Zone second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MS Guptenot out25     
NM Mehtalbw b Kumar34     
ED Solkarc Krishnamurthy b Jaisimha6     
UC Joshinot out0     
AV Mankaddid not bat      
DN Sardesaidid not bat      
+CG Bordedid not bat      
VN Joshidid not bat      
+HS Kanitkardid not bat      
JR Pateldid not bat      
SA Hatteeadid not bat      
Total(2 wickets, 27 overs)65
Fall of wickets:
1-40, 2-65
South Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Govindraj6   1110--
Abid Ali5   1150--
Kumar6   1261--
Venkataraghavan4   310--
Jaisimha4   2111--
Pataudi2   110--

--> South Zone won on first innings
--> HK Jayantilal (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 22
--> SA Hatteea made his last appearance in first-class matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive