Kent v Leicestershire
County Championship 1970
VenueCheriton Road Sports Ground, Folkestone on 2nd, 3rd, 4th September 1970 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultKent won by an innings and 40 runs
PointsKent 23 (Batting 8, Bowling 5); Leicestershire 2 (Bowling 2)
UmpiresHD Bird, AE Fagg
Close of play day 1Kent (1) 96/0 (Denness 50*, Luckhurst 43*)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 97/3 (Norman 38*, Inman 0*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MEJC Normanc Denness b Shepherd21     
BJ Boothrun out0     
PT Marnerc Asif Iqbal b Shepherd54     
CC Inmanb Shepherd32     
BF Davisonc Knott b Woolmer9     
*R Illingworthb Woolmer25     
J Birkenshawc Luckhurst b Shepherd4     
JG Tolchardc Knott b Shepherd0     
GD McKenziec Knott b Dye0     
PM Stringernot out3     
+R Julianb Woolmer0     
Extras(4 nb)4
Total(all out, 50 overs)152
Fall of wickets:
1-3, 2-33, 3-102, 4-119, 5-119, 6-124, 7-124, 8-124, 9-151, 10-152 (50 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Dye11   4171--
Shepherd20   7645--
Woolmer10   4313--
Asif Iqbal6   1190--
Underwood3   1170--

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MH Dennessc Marner b Stringer66     
BW Luckhurstc Marner b Stringer44     
GW Johnsonc Norman b Illingworth108     
Asif Iqbalc Tolchard b Illingworth63     
*MC Cowdreyc Julian b Stringer29     
JN Shepherdc Inman b Davison37     
AGE Ealhamnot out30     
RA Woolmerb Davison17     
+APE Knottnot out6     
DL Underwooddid not bat      
JCJ Dyedid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 15 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)21
Total(7 wickets, declared, 105 overs)421
Fall of wickets:
1-98, 2-125, 3-230, 4-309, 5-363, 6-371, 7-394
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie32   61060--
Stringer26   81133--
Davison18   4582--
Marner8   2380--
Illingworth15   0532--
Birkenshaw6   0320--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MEJC Normanc Asif Iqbal b Shepherd38     
BJ Boothc Asif Iqbal b Shepherd2     
PT Marnerc Knott b Underwood47     
PM Stringerc Johnson b Underwood2     
CC Inmanc Knott b Dye0     
BF Davisonc Luckhurst b Underwood63     
*R Illingworthc Denness b Underwood12     
J Birkenshawb Johnson23     
JG Tolchardnot out11     
GD McKenziec Woolmer b Underwood0     
+R Julianc Ealham b Underwood19     
Extras(7 lb, 5 nb)12
Total(all out, 64.1 overs)229
Fall of wickets:
1-14, 2-39, 3-96, 4-97, 5-97, 6-122, 7-179, 8-203, 9-203, 10-229 (64.1 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Dye11   5381--
Shepherd25   41012--
Woolmer3   080--
Johnson6   1121--

--> R Illingworth (2) passed 18500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 1
--> DL Underwood reached 750 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 6th wicket in the Leicestershire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive