Warwickshire v Northamptonshire
County Championship 1970
VenueEdgbaston, Birmingham on 29th, 31st August, 1st September 1970 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWarwickshire won by 4 wickets
PointsWarwickshire 14 (Batting 2, Bowling 2); Northamptonshire 5 (Batting 3, Bowling 2)
UmpiresWE Phillipson, AEG Rhodes
Close of play day 1Northamptonshire (1) 331/6 (Sharp 55*, Crump 16*)
Close of play day 2Northamptonshire (2) 33/1 (Lightfoot 19*, Ackerman 6*)

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RM Prideauxc Smith b Brown64     
A Lightfootlbw b Khalid Ibadulla24     
HM Ackermanb Khalid Ibadulla53     
Mushtaq Mohammadc Hemmings b Khalid Ibadulla16     
PJ Wattsc Amiss b Brown55     
P Willeyc Timms b Brown39     
+G Sharpnot out55     
BS Crumpnot out16     
D Breakwelldid not bat      
Sarfraz Nawazdid not bat      
JW Swinburnedid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 4 lb)9
Total(6 wickets, declared, 111 overs)331
Fall of wickets:
1-58, 2-116, 3-142, 4-182, 5-251, 6-266
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brown21   4673--
McVicker19   1830--
Khalid Ibadulla25   5653--
Hemmings6   1130--
Gibbs23   8490--
Tidy17   5450--

Warwickshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Jamesonb Crump7     
RN Abberleyb Mushtaq Mohammad65     
Khalid Ibadullac Sharp b Sarfraz Nawaz45     
*MJK Smithlbw b Mushtaq Mohammad22     
DL Amissc Prideaux b Sarfraz Nawaz0     
EE Hemmingsb Crump47     
+BSV Timmsb Crump35     
DJ Brownb Sarfraz Nawaz4     
NM McVickerb Sarfraz Nawaz22     
LR Gibbsc and b Crump0     
WN Tidynot out0     
Extras(4 b, 10 lb, 4 nb)18
Total(all out, 100.3 overs)265
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-119, 3-131, 4-135, 5-159, 6-230, 7-237, 8-250, 9-250, 10-265 (100.3 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sarfraz Nawaz20.34484--
Crump16   4434--
Watts2   060--
Mushtaq Mohammad33   6902--
Willey6   290--
Breakwell15   5420--
Swinburne8   490--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RM Prideauxc Timms b Brown7     
A Lightfootc Hemmings b Jameson77     
HM Ackermanc Gibbs b Brown11     
BS Crumpnot out65     
Mushtaq Mohammadlbw b Jameson25     
PJ Wattsnot out4     
P Willeydid not bat      
+G Sharpdid not bat      
D Breakwelldid not bat      
Sarfraz Nawazdid not bat      
JW Swinburnedid not bat      
Extras(3 lb, 3 nb)6
Total(4 wickets, declared, 56 overs)195
Fall of wickets:
1-22, 2-47, 3-145, 4-189
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brown12   1342--
McVicker14   2540--
Khalid Ibadulla5   0140--
Gibbs11   3200--
Tidy6   1350--
Jameson8   0322--

Warwickshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RN Abberleyc and b Willey49     
JA Jamesonlbw b Crump24     
Khalid Ibadullab Willey30     
*MJK Smithnot out70     
DL Amissb Willey16     
EE Hemmingsc Mushtaq Mohammad b Sarfraz Nawaz36     
+BSV Timmsrun out7     
NM McVickernot out11     
DJ Browndid not bat      
LR Gibbsdid not bat      
WN Tidydid not bat      
Extras(9 b, 8 lb, 2 nb)19
Total(6 wickets, 70.1 overs)262
Fall of wickets:
1-42, 2-106, 3-107, 4-125, 5-214, 6-227
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sarfraz Nawaz11.11431--
Crump15   3461--
Mushtaq Mohammad12   1500--
Willey8   1253--
Breakwell12   1370--
Swinburne12   2420--

--> A Lightfoot made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> A Lightfoot made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> RM Prideaux (1) passed 20500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 16
--> G Sharp (1) passed his previous highest score of 37 in first-class matches
--> G Sharp (1) passed his previous highest score of 37 in County Championship matches
--> BSV Timms (1) passed 3500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 31
--> A Lightfoot (2) passed 11000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 25
--> A Lightfoot (2) passed 12000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 77
--> RN Abberley (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 43





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive