Warwickshire v Derbyshire
County Championship 1970
VenueCourtaulds Ground, Coventry on 8th, 10th, 11th August 1970 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWarwickshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultDerbyshire won by 6 wickets
PointsWarwickshire 8 (Batting 5, Bowling 3); Derbyshire 17 (Batting 2, Bowling 5)
UmpiresASM Oakman, PB Wight, RK Wilson
Close of play day 1Derbyshire (1) 90/3 (Page 33*, Swarbrook 1*; 33 overs)
Close of play day 2Warwickshire (2) 104/5 (Amiss 19*, Brown 12*)

Warwickshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RN Abberleyc Wilkins b E Smith21     
JA Jamesonc and b E Smith45     
RB Kanhainot out187     
MJK Smithc Taylor b Ward1     
DL Amissc Page b Ward1     
*+AC Smithb Ward0     
EE Hemmingsc Page b Wilkins30     
DJ Brownc Gibbs b Ward1     
W Blenkironc Gibbs b Ward0     
LR Gibbsb Russell0     
WN Tidyc Swarbrook b Ward1     
Extras(3 lb, 5 nb)8
Total(all out, 73.4 overs)295
Fall of wickets:
1-63, 2-86, 3-96, 4-102, 5-103, 6-169, 7-197, 8-200, 9-253, 10-295 (73.4 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Buxton3   1170--
Russell28   8891--
E Smith11   2552--
Swarbrook7   1430--
Wilkins4   1141--

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PJK Gibbsc AC Smith b Gibbs14     
DHK Smithc Abberley b Gibbs32     
MH Pagec AC Smith b Blenkiron80     
CP Wilkinslbw b Gibbs4     
FW Swarbrookc Jameson b Brown10     
JF Harveyc and b Tidy39     
*IR Buxtonc Gibbs b Blenkiron32     
+RW Taylorc Kanhai b Tidy18     
PE Russellnot out13     
E Smithc MJK Smith b Brown17     
A Wardc Hemmings b Blenkiron10     
Extras(1 b, 8 lb, 8 nb)17
Total(all out, 109 overs)286
Fall of wickets:
1-40, 2-76, 3-84, 4-111, 5-163, 6-215, 7-236, 8-246, 9-268, 10-286 (109 ov)
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brown24   6662--
Blenkiron21   4523--
Gibbs32   10753--
Tidy23   3592--
Hemmings9   2170--

Warwickshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*+AC Smithc Wilkins b Swarbrook19     
JA Jamesonc Buxton b Swarbrook11     
RB Kanhaic Wilkins b Ward20     
MJK Smithc Taylor b Ward10     
DL Amissb Swarbrook58     
EE Hemmingsc and b Swarbrook8     
DJ Brownlbw b Swarbrook17     
W Blenkironc Wilkins b E Smith22     
LR Gibbsc Taylor b Ward1     
RN Abberleyc and b Swarbrook1     
WN Tidynot out0     
Extras(8 b, 2 nb)10
Total(all out, 74.3 overs)177
Fall of wickets:
1-25, 2-37, 3-51, 4-62, 5-89, 6-114, 7-171, 8-175, 9-177, 10-177 (74.3 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Buxton7   2170--
Russell13   7190--
E Smith12   5201--
Swarbrook27   13486--

Derbyshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DHK Smithc AC Smith b Brown30     
PJK Gibbsc sub b Tidy32     
MH Pageb Brown44     
CP Wilkinsc Gibbs b Brown44     
JF Harveynot out16     
*IR Buxtonnot out7     
FW Swarbrookdid not bat      
+RW Taylordid not bat      
PE Russelldid not bat      
E Smithdid not bat      
A Warddid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 7 lb, 6 nb)17
Total(4 wickets, 77.2 overs)190
Fall of wickets:
1-67, 2-92, 3-150, 4-179
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brown20   6383--
Blenkiron15   5320--
Gibbs27   11490--
Jameson2   060--

--> DHK Smith (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 16
--> MH Page (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 27
--> MH Page (2) passed 6000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 36
--> MH Page (2) passed 6500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 1
--> A Ward reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 6th wicket in the Warwickshire first innings
--> FW Swarbrook achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Warwickshire second innings (previous best was 5-42)
--> FW Swarbrook achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Warwickshire second innings (previous best was 5-42)
--> DJ Brown reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 3rd wicket in the Derbyshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive