Marylebone Cricket Club v Metropolitan Police
Other matches in England 1871
VenueLord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood on 11th August 1871 (1-day match)
Balls per over4
Players12 per side
TossToss not known
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresR Barber, D Jordan

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EGG Suttonc Bristow b W Hayden86      
RE Gayeb Shaw3      
RC Gayest Bristow b Shaw1      
HP Thomasb Shaw0      
J Pennycuickc and b Williams22      
CJ Heganc G Hayden b Williams23      
AR Hawkinsc North b Shaw27      
CH Hamiltonb Shaw4      
VK Shawb Palmer13      
J Grahamc Pavey b W Hayden2      
J Grundyc Penn b W Hayden6      
JH Heartfieldnot out2      
Extras(1 lb, 2 w)3
Total(all out)192
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-?, 11-192
Metropolitan Police bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
W Hayden???3--

Metropolitan Police first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Haydenb Pennycuick24      
F Williamsb Grundy12      
J Shawc and b Pennycuick4      
E Butterfieldb Grundy3      
Palmerb Pennycuick0      
W Bydec [unknown] b Thomas53      
W Haydenb Grundy5      
Northb Grundy13      
W Neighbourlbw b Grundy4      
J Penn hit wkt b Heartfield12      
J Paveyb Grundy15      
J Bristownot out22      
Extras(4 b, 3 w)7
Total(all out)174
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-?, 11-174
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JH Heartfieldb Shaw0      
RE Gayec Williams b W Hayden9      
HP Thomasc North b Shaw0      
CH Hamiltonc Butterfield b Shaw0      
CJ Hegannot out16      
AR Hawkinsnot out2      
EGG Suttondid not bat      
RC Gayedid not bat      
J Pennycuickdid not bat      
VK Shawdid not bat      
J Grahamdid not bat      
J Grundydid not bat      
Total(4 wickets)27
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?
Metropolitan Police bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
W Hayden???1--

Byde was c Gaye but the source did not say by which one





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2016 CricketArchive