India v Australia
Australia in Ceylon, India and South Africa 1969/70 (1st Test)
VenueBrabourne Stadium, Bombay on 4th, 5th, 7th, 8th, 9th November 1969 (5-day match)
Balls per over6
TossIndia won the toss and decided to bat
ResultAustralia won by 8 wickets
UmpiresI Gopalakrishnan, SP Pan
Close of play day 1India (1) 202/4 (Pataudi 73*, Wadekar 1*)
Close of play day 2Australia (1) 93/1 (Stackpole 57*, Chappell 4*)
Close of play day 3Australia (1) 322/7 (Taber 0*, Mallett 0*)
Close of play day 4India (2) 125/9 (Wadekar 37*)

India first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DN Sardesaib McKenzie20 364- 
+FM Engineerc Redpath b McKenzie19     
AV Mankadb McKenzie74 2597- 
CG Bordec Chappell b McKenzie2     
*Nawab of Pataudic Lawry b Gleeson95 36914- 
AL Wadekarlbw b Connolly9 551- 
RF Surtist Taber b Gleeson4     
S Abid Alic Stackpole b McKenzie3     
S Venkataraghavanc Taber b Connolly2     
EAS Prasannanot out12     
BS Bedic McKenzie b Gleeson7     
Extras(15 b, 4 lb, 5 nb)24
Total(all out, 135.4 overs)271
Fall of wickets:
1-39 (Sardesai), 2-40 (Engineer), 3-42 (Borde), 4-188 (Mankad), 5-239 (Wadekar), 6-245 (Pataudi), 7-246 (Surti), 8-249 (Venkataraghavan), 9-252 (Abid Ali), 10-271 (Bedi, 135.4 ov)
Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie29   7695--
Connolly31   11552--
Walters6   0130--
Mallett30   19430--
Stackpole3   180--
Chappell1   070--

Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*WM Lawryb Prasanna25   1 
KR Stackpolec Surti b Prasanna103 29014- 
IM Chappellb Prasanna31     
KD Waltersc Venkataraghavan b Bedi48     
IR Redpathc Wadekar b Venkataraghavan77 19413- 
AP Sheahanlbw b Venkataraghavan14     
GD McKenziec Borde b Prasanna16   1 
+HB Taberc Surti b Bedi5     
AA Mallettnot out10     
JW Gleesonc Borde b Prasanna0     
AN Connollyc sub (ED Solkar) b Bedi8     
Extras(4 b, 4 nb)8
Total(all out, 169.4 overs)345
Fall of wickets:
1-81 (Lawry), 2-164 (Chappell), 3-167 (Stackpole), 4-285 (Walters), 5-297 (Redpath), 6-322 (Sheahan), 7-322 (McKenzie), 8-337 (Taber), 9-337 (Gleeson), 10-345 (Connolly, 169.4 ov)
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Abid Ali18   3520--
Surti9   2230--
Venkataraghavan31   11672--
Prasanna49   191215--

India second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DN Sardesaic Taber b Gleeson3     
+FM Engineerc McKenzie b Mallett28     
AV Mankadb Gleeson8     
CG Bordec Redpath b Gleeson18     
*Nawab of Pataudic Stackpole b Gleeson0     
AL Wadekarc McKenzie b Stackpole46 2117- 
RF Surtilbw b Connolly13     
S Abid Alilbw b Connolly2     
S Venkataraghavanc Taber b Connolly9     
EAS Prasannab Mallett3     
BS Bedinot out1     
Extras(4 b, 2 nb)6
Total(all out, 90.2 overs)137
Fall of wickets:
1-19 (Sardesai), 2-37 (Mankad), 3-55 (Engineer), 4-56 (Pataudi), 5-59 (Borde), 6-87 (Surti), 7-89 (Abid Ali), 8-114 (Venkataraghavan), 9-125 (Prasanna), 10-137 (Wadekar, 90.2 ov)
Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie16   4330--
Connolly20   10203--
Gleeson32   17564--
Mallett21   9222--

Australia second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*WM Lawryb Surti2  -- 
KR Stackpolelbw b Surti11     
IM Chappellnot out31     
KD Waltersnot out22     
IR Redpathdid not bat      
AP Sheahandid not bat      
GD McKenziedid not bat      
+HB Taberdid not bat      
AA Mallettdid not bat      
JW Gleesondid not bat      
AN Connollydid not bat      
Extras(1 b)1
Total(2 wickets, 26.5 overs)67
Fall of wickets:
1-8 (Lawry), 2-13 (Stackpole)
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Abid Ali3   0140--
Surti4   192--
Bedi9   5110--
Prasanna9   3200--
Venkataraghavan1   020--

--> AV Mankad (1) passed his previous highest score of 29 in Test matches
--> WM Lawry (1) passed 4500 runs in Test matches when he reached 22
--> JW Gleeson reached 50 wickets in Test matches when he dismissed BS Bedi, his 3rd wicket in the India first innings
--> GD McKenzie reached 700 wickets in first-class matches when he dismissed CG Borde, his 3rd wicket in the India first innings
--> BS Bedi reached 50 wickets in Test matches when he dismissed KD Walters, his 1st wicket in the Australia first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive