Victoria v New South Wales
Other First-Class matches in Australia 1891/92
VenueMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne on 26th, 28th, 29th, 30th December 1891 (timeless match)
Balls per over6
TossNew South Wales won the toss and decided to bat
ResultVictoria won by 6 wickets
UmpiresEJ Briscoe, T Flynn
Close of play day 1New South Wales (1) 191/8 (Richardson 12*, Callaway 6*)
Close of play day 2Victoria (1) 220/5 (McLeod 85*, Phillips 60*)
Close of play day 3New South Wales (2) 121/7 (Callaway 27*, Garrett 4*)

New South Wales first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AC Bannermanb Phillips23     
H Donnanc Blackham b McLeod54     
*H Mosesc Blackham b Phillips25     
CTB Turnerc Trumble b McLeod11     
FA Iredalec Horan b Trumble32     
SE Gregoryrun out (Worrall->McLeod)5     
PC Charltonb Worrall5     
WA Richardsonb McLeod15     
TW Garrettc Trumble b McLeod10     
ST Callawaynot out17     
+I Walesb Trumble13     
Extras(8 b)8
Total(all out, 297 minutes, 119.3 overs)218
Fall of wickets:
1-65, 2-87, 3-113, 4-115, 5-123, 6-147, 7-163, 8-182, 9-194, 10-218 (119.3 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McLeod37   17544--
Ross3   080--
Phillips31   17382--
Worrall10   3221--
Bruce7   2250--

Victoria first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FH Walterslbw b Callaway6     
W Bruceb Turner17     
TP Horanb Callaway7     
J Worrallc Iredale b Turner13     
RW McLeodb Callaway87     
CH Rossc Wales b Charlton28     
J Phillipslbw b Callaway85     
*+JM Blackhamb Callaway0     
SA McMichaelb Callaway0     
WA Tarrantc Callaway b Garrett26     
H Trumblenot out11     
Extras(7 b, 1 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)10
Total(all out, 335 minutes, 133.5 overs)290
Fall of wickets:
1-13, 2-27, 3-31, 4-48, 5-91, 6-226, 7-226, 8-226, 9-274, 10-290 (133.5 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Turner51   20952-1
Richardson5   0150--
Charlton9   2191--
Garrett22   44711-
Donnan6   3150--
Gregory2   040--

New South Wales second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AC Bannermanc Blackham b McLeod14     
H Donnanb McLeod10     
*H Mosesb Worrall37     
SE Gregoryrun out (Bruce->Blackham)22     
FA Iredaleb Bruce0     
CTB Turnerb Bruce3     
ST Callawayc McMichael b Trumble34     
WA Richardsonrun out (Ross)0     
TW Garrettrun out (Bruce->Blackham)12     
+I Waleslbw b McLeod4     
PC Charltonnot out3     
Extras(2 b, 2 w)4
Total(all out, 212 minutes, 84 overs)143
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-27, 3-65, 4-68, 5-72, 6-107, 7-107, 8-131, 9-140, 10-143 (84 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McLeod29   10533--
Trumble18   6321--
Bruce21   102322-
Phillips11   4200--
Worrall5   3111--

Victoria second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Brucec Garrett b Callaway11     
FH Waltersc Wales b Garrett34     
TP Horanb Callaway1     
J Worrallc Iredale b Turner11     
RW McLeodnot out6     
CH Rossnot out1     
J Phillipsdid not bat      
*+JM Blackhamdid not bat      
SA McMichaeldid not bat      
WA Tarrantdid not bat      
H Trumbledid not bat      
Extras(7 b, 1 lb)8
Total(4 wickets, 98 minutes, 36.4 overs)72
Fall of wickets:
1-22, 2-36, 3-65, 4-68
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Callaway14   3342--
Turner17   7251--

--> SA McMichael made his debut in first-class matches
--> TP Horan made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> H Donnan (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 51
--> ST Callaway (1) equalled his previous highest score of 17 in first-class matches
--> I Wales (1) passed his previous highest score of 12 in first-class matches
--> RW McLeod (1) passed his previous highest score of 60 in first-class matches
--> J Phillips (1) passed his previous highest score of 39 in first-class matches
--> WA Tarrant (1) passed his previous highest score of 25 in first-class matches
--> ST Callaway (2) passed his previous highest score of 17 in first-class matches
--> ST Callaway reached 50 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Victoria first innings

12th Men:G Beacham (Vic) and ACK Mackenzie (NSW)
Crowds: 12000, 9000, 5000, 1000. Total: About 27,000. Receipts: 1070 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive