Yorkshire v Marylebone Cricket Club
Other First-Class matches in England 1886
VenueNorth Marine Road, Scarborough on 6th, 7th, 8th September 1886 (3-day match)
Balls per over4
TossMarylebone Cricket Club won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMarylebone Cricket Club won by 133 runs
UmpiresG Anderson, CK Pullin
Close of play day 1Yorkshire (1) 34/1 (Hall 16*, Bates 17*)
Close of play day 2Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 89/5 (Walker 1*, O'Brien 14*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*CI Thorntonc Leadbeater b Preston33     
+EFS Tylecoterun out0     
WG Graceb Emmett13     
W Barnesc Peel b Bates30     
W Flowersc Leadbeater b Preston8     
JG Walkerc Hunter b Peel55     
TC O'Brienc Emmett b Bates0     
HV Pagerun out8     
PJ de Paravicinic Bates b Preston18     
HG Tylecoteb Ulyett14     
W Attewellnot out0     
Extras(8 b, 4 lb)12
Total(all out, 106 overs)191
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-37, 3-62, 4-70, 5-97, 6-97, 7-111, 8-164, 9-191, 10-191 (106 ov)
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Emmett24   8601--
Preston26   10603--
Bates22   11242--
Peate24   14220--
Ulyett5   381--
Peel5   351--

Yorkshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
L Hallb Grace52     
*MB Hawkeb Barnes1     
W Batesc Thornton b Barnes36     
G Ulyettc Grace b Barnes3     
H Leadbeaterc de Paravicini b Barnes0     
I Grimshawlbw b Attewell61     
JM Prestonc Page b Barnes0     
R Peelb Barnes30     
T Emmettc Page b Attewell3     
E Peatenot out11     
+J Hunterc HG Tylecote b Attewell6     
Extras(3 b, 4 lb, 1 w)8
Total(all out, 140.2 overs)211
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-61, 3-79, 4-79, 5-101, 6-118, 7-168, 8-171, 9-200, 10-211 (140.2 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Barnes66   30926--
Grace12   32211-
Page9   6150--
Flowers11   2230--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*CI Thorntonc Hawke b Preston17     
+EFS Tylecotec Hunter b Bates28     
WG Graceb Peate10     
W Barnesc Leadbeater b Bates7     
W Flowersc Hunter b Bates0     
JG Walkernot out65     
TC O'Brienc Hall b Emmett14     
HV Pagec Preston b Peate36     
PJ de Paravicinic Bates b Emmett60     
HG Tylecotelbw b Emmett3     
W Attewellc Bates b Emmett0     
Extras(19 b, 4 lb, 2 w)25
Total(all out, 151.2 overs)265
Fall of wickets:
1-23, 2-45, 3-70, 4-70, 5-74, 6-89, 7-150, 8-257, 9-?, 10-265 (151.2 ov)
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Preston21   8431--
Bates41   20553--
Peate29   16412--
Ulyett9   2210--
Peel5   190--
Hall6   21301-
Leadbeater4   170--

Yorkshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
L Hallb Grace14     
W Batesc Grace b Barnes0     
G Ulyettst EFS Tylecote b Barnes2     
*MB Hawkeb Barnes42     
H Leadbeaterc Flowers b Grace9     
I Grimshawc EFS Tylecote b Grace0     
JM Prestonc Attewell b Barnes11     
R Peelnot out24     
T Emmettc Attewell b Barnes8     
E Peatec de Paravicini b Grace0     
+J Hunterb Grace1     
Extras(1 lb)1
Total(all out, 55 overs)112
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-6, 3-18, 4-32, 5-32, 6-51, 7-80, 8-96, 9-101, 10-112 (55 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Barnes27   14285--
Grace28   6835--

--> EFS Tylecote made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> HG Tylecote made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> W Bates (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 18
--> I Grimshaw (1) passed 3500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 1
--> CI Thornton (2) passed 6000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 10
--> PJ de Paravicini (2) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 50
--> G Ulyett (2) passed 14500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 2
--> JM Preston reached 50 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings
--> WG Grace reached 2000 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Yorkshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive