Marylebone Cricket Club v Rugby School
Other matches in England 1878
VenueLord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood on 2nd, 3rd August 1878 (2-day match)
Balls per over4
TossToss not known
ResultMarylebone Cricket Club won by an innings and 240 runs
Close of play day 1

Rugby School first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BJH FitzGeraldb Bovill3     
CE Cobbrun out23     
JL Smithb Stratford0     
CFH Leslieb Bovill1     
AJ Bailyb Stratford5     
FW Capronb Bovill25     
CAS Leggattst Vernon b Stratford0     
JH Fletcherb Stratford3     
FH Bowden-Smithb Bovill1     
FD Gaddumb Bovill2     
FA Prevostnot out11     
Extras(3 lb)3
Total(all out)77
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-77
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
OR Dunellb Baily83     
AWL Hemmingc Baily b Leggatt2     
FE Allsoppc Leggatt b Leslie178  191 
JH Savoryb Fletcher13     
AH Stratfordb Gaddum30     
+GF Vernonb Gaddum1     
WD Bovillb Leggatt42     
WH Cunliffest Cobb b Gaddum6     
RG Venablesb Leggatt13     
ARM Langhornec [unknown] b Gaddum0     
AS Barnesnot out8     
Extras(12 b, 3 lb, 4 w)19
Total(all out)395
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-395
Rugby School bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Rugby School second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BJH FitzGeraldc Savory b Venables13     
CE Cobbb Allsopp0     
JL Smithc Langhorne b Stratford23     
CFH Lesliec Vernon b Venables1     
AJ Bailyb Allsopp10     
FW Capronc Stratford b Allsopp0     
CAS Leggattnot out12     
JH Fletcherrun out1     
FH Bowden-Smithrun out2     
FA Prevostb Allsopp5     
FD Gaddumabsent
Extras(8 b, 1 lb, 2 w)11
Total(all out)78
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-78
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

F.E.Allsopp also hit a '5'





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive