Yorkshire v Leicestershire
County Championship 1963
VenueNorth Marine Road, Scarborough on 24th, 26th, 27th August 1963 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultYorkshire won by an innings and 111 runs
PointsYorkshire 10; Leicestershire 0
UmpiresR Aspinall, FC Gardner
ScorersFN Bloxsom (Leicestershire), EI Lester (Yorkshire)
Close of play day 1Yorkshire (1) 87/1 (Boycott 49*, Padgett 1*)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 90/7 (Spencer 2*, Savage 0*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*MR Hallamlbw b Nicholson2     
S Greenswordb Nicholson2     
S Jayasingheb Nicholson15     
PA Mundenlbw b Nicholson2     
CC Inmanc Clarkson b Illingworth35     
J van Gelovenc Binks b Wilson3     
+GW Burchc Binks b Illingworth1     
CT Spencerc Clarkson b Hutton46     
JS Savagec Binks b Hutton4     
RC Smithc Binks b Hutton12     
BS Boshiernot out0     
Extras(2 nb)2
Total(all out, 57.1 overs)124
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-9, 3-13, 4-24, 5-53, 6-61, 7-62, 8-98, 9-120, 10-124 (57.1 ov)
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nicholson19   3364--
Ryan8   3150--
Taylor4   180--
Illingworth6   2212--
Wilson9   5161--

Yorkshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Boycottnot out165     
K Taylorrun out37     
DEV Padgettb Smith19     
RA Huttonc and b Savage14     
D Wilsonb Spencer28     
JH Hampshirec Munden b Smith33     
*R Illingworthnot out31     
A Clarksondid not bat      
+JG Binksdid not bat      
M Ryandid not bat      
AG Nicholsondid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 5 lb, 2 nb)10
Total(5 wickets, declared, 115 overs)337
Fall of wickets:
1-72, 2-137, 3-168, 4-205, 5-278
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Spencer22   7601--
Boshier21   4550--
van Geloven9   1250--
Smith32   7972--
Savage31   8901--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*MR Hallamb Nicholson0     
S Greenswordc Illingworth b Wilson9     
S Jayasingheb Illingworth53     
PA Mundenc Ryan b Wilson2     
CC Inmanc Padgett b Wilson7     
J van Gelovenst Binks b Illingworth7     
+GW Burchrun out5     
CT Spencerc Wilson b Illingworth8     
JS Savagec Binks b Illingworth0     
RC Smithc Binks b Illingworth4     
BS Boshiernot out2     
Extras(2 b, 3 nb)5
Total(all out, 70.5 overs)102
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-43, 3-63, 4-71, 5-71, 6-85, 7-89, 8-90, 9-97, 10-102 (70.5 ov)
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nicholson6   0161--
Ryan2   0210--
Wilson29   18223--
Hutton13   4250--

--> S Jayasinghe (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 10
--> G Boycott (1) passed his previous highest score of 145 in first-class matches
--> G Boycott (1) passed his previous highest score of 145 in County Championship matches
--> G Boycott (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 71





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2016 CricketArchive