Devon v Marylebone Cricket Club
Other matches in England 1897
VenueGras Lawn, Exeter on 23rd, 24th August 1897 (2-day match)
Balls per over5
TossMarylebone Cricket Club won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
Close of play day 1Devon (2) 40/4 (Mayo 10*, Brutton 12*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GG Hearneb Hickley49      
AG Archerb Linnell12      
JE Westc Linnell b Ashford1      
CG Popeb Linnell5      
HE Rawsonb Linnell0      
HO Whitbyc and b Linnell0      
W Rocheb Linnell23      
JH Husey-Huntc Hickley b Ashford8      
SH Bradfordc Martyn b Linnell18      
Kirkwoodb Linnell13      
GT Warnernot out0      
Extras(8 b, 1 lb)9
Total(all out, 73 overs)138
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-21, 3-44, 4-44, 5-44, 6-85, 7-102, 8-115, 9-125, 10-138 (73 ov)
Devon bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Linnell33   15677--
Ashford32   14462--
Hickley4   171--
Brierley4   090--

Devon first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CLS Elwellb Roche2      
TCG Sandfordc West b Hearne9      
FD Conry hit wkt b Roche2      
PR Johnsonb Roche2      
TW Mayob Roche9      
EB Bruttonb Roche4      
H Martynb Roche0      
AD Hickleyc Whitby b Roche4      
HE Brierleyc Roche b Hearne2      
W Linnellnot out0      
W Ashfordc Whitby b Hearne0      
Total(all out, 23 overs)34
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-13, 3-15, 4-17, 5-24, 6-24, 7-32, 8-34, 9-34, 10-34 (23 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Roche12   4207--
Hearne11   6143--

Devon second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
CLS Elwellb Roche2      
TCG Sandfordc and b Roche2      
FD Conryb Roche13      
PR Johnsonb Roche0      
TW Mayoc Roche b Hearne15      
EB Bruttonnot out34      
H Martynnot out8      
AD Hickleydid not bat      
HE Brierleydid not bat      
W Linnelldid not bat      
W Ashforddid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 5 lb)9
Total(5 wickets, 34 overs)83
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-11, 3-11, 4-28, 5-?
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Roche16   5494--
Hearne17   9251--
Whitby1   100--





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2016 CricketArchive