Gentlemen of Yorkshire v Middlesbrough
Other matches in England 1866
VenueWigginton Road, York on 2nd, 3rd August 1866 (2-day match)
Balls per over4
TossToss not known
ResultMiddlesbrough won by an innings and 225 runs
UmpiresFH Farrands, R Stainsby
Close of play day 1

Middlesbrough first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Smithb Pollard85      
R Hawmanc Gray b Pollard31      
J Hendersonb Pollard25      
T Darntonlbw b Penrose13      
+GG Lynasb Penrose53      
J Joyc Wright b Pollard31      
W Wetherellb Badger32      
JH Gibsonb Penrose5      
F Trotterc Wright b Pollard10      
T Knottb Pollard2      
W Toddnot out3      
Extras(2 b, 6 lb, 2 w)10
Total(all out)300
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-300
Gentlemen of Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Gentlemen of Yorkshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WR Wrightc Knott b Gibson10      
C Penrosec Knott b Darnton11      
TW Badgerb Gibson0      
Haguec Joy b Darnton2      
H Carrc Hawman b Gibson1      
D Pollardc Smith b Darnton0      
HN Churtonc Wetherell b Darnton0      
FW Jacksonc Smith b Darnton4      
W Grayb Gibson1      
Swaine sennot out2      
Swaine junst Lynas b Darnton0      
Extras(1 b, 1 w)2
Total(all out)33
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-33
Middlesbrough bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Gentlemen of Yorkshire second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
WR Wrightnot out23      
C Penrosec Knott b Gibson4      
TW Badgerb Gibson0      
Haguec Trotter b Darnton5      
H Carrb Gibson0      
D Pollardc Smith b Darnton3      
HN Churtonb Darnton0      
FW Jacksonb Darnton2      
W Graylbw b Darnton0      
Swaine senc Smith b Gibson0      
Swaine junst Lynas b Darnton4      
Total(all out)42
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-42
Middlesbrough bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

--> Gentlemen of Yorkshire second innings batting adds 1 run under

Gentlemen of Yorkshire were badly let down by the non-arrival of four of the team





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2016 CricketArchive