Nottinghamshire v Northamptonshire
County Championship 1959
VenueTrent Bridge, Nottingham on 15th, 16th, 17th July 1959 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
PointsNottinghamshire 0; Northamptonshire 2
UmpiresH Elliott, WE Phillipson
Close of play day 1Northamptonshire (1) 58/2 (Norman 37*, Lightfoot 3*)
Close of play day 2Nottinghamshire (2) 17/0 (Hill 7*, Millman 10*)

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NW Hillc and b Tribe71     
+G Millmanlbw b Tribe56     
HM Winfieldb Tribe12     
JD Springallc Andrew b Tribe16     
*RT Simpsonc Arnold b Tribe45     
CJ Pooleb Williamson13     
MJ Halllbw b Tribe0     
T Atkinsonst Andrew b Tribe5     
M Morganc Lightfoot b PD Watts12     
CS Matthewsc Lightfoot b Tribe1     
IJ Davisonnot out9     
Extras(4 b, 2 lb)6
Total(all out, 81.5 overs)246
Fall of wickets:
1-127, 2-128, 3-147, 4-172, 5-205, 6-214, 7-219, 8-226, 9-236, 10-246 (81.5 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tyson10   2300--
Williamson12   0331--
Lightfoot7   1310--
PJ Watts4   0180--
Manning5   0200--
PD Watts16   3551--

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MEJC Normanc Millman b Davison87     
AP Arnoldc Millman b Davison11     
DW Barrickc Poole b Atkinson6     
A Lightfootst Millman b Morgan68     
PJ Wattsc Millman b Morgan13     
*GE Tribec Springall b Morgan13     
FH Tysonc Millman b Atkinson9     
JS Manningc Millman b Matthews24     
+KV Andrewnot out46     
PD Wattsnot out56     
JG Williamsondid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb, 1 nb)3
Total(8 wickets, declared, 129 overs)336
Fall of wickets:
1-33, 2-40, 3-126, 4-143, 5-167, 6-180, 7-213, 8-246
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Davison25   1902--
Matthews28   4751--
Atkinson30   10652--
Morgan41   19823--
Springall5   0210--

Nottinghamshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NW Hillc Williamson b PD Watts37     
+G Millmanc Tribe b PD Watts29     
HM Winfieldc and b PD Watts69     
JD Springallnot out100     
*RT Simpsonnot out66     
CJ Pooledid not bat      
MJ Halldid not bat      
T Atkinsondid not bat      
M Morgandid not bat      
CS Matthewsdid not bat      
IJ Davisondid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 2 lb, 3 w)10
Total(3 wickets, declared, 83.5 overs)311
Fall of wickets:
1-54, 2-79, 3-183
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tyson10   2380--
Williamson6   2280--
PJ Watts3   0240--
Tribe22   5600--
PD Watts23   4753--
Barrick9   1340--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AP Arnoldb Matthews42     
MEJC Normanc Hall b Morgan43     
DW Barrickc Hall b Morgan4     
A Lightfootst Millman b Morgan0     
PJ Wattsc Hall b Matthews9     
*GE Tribeb Atkinson24     
FH Tysonb Matthews0     
JS Manningc Matthews b Morgan23     
PD Wattsnot out51     
+KV Andrewb Hill8     
JG Williamsonnot out13     
Extras(1 b)1
Total(9 wickets, 46 overs)218
Fall of wickets:
1-63, 2-74, 3-77, 4-92, 5-110, 6-110, 7-145, 8-146, 9-168
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Matthews14   0583--
Atkinson8   0481--
Morgan18   1834--
Hill6   0281--

--> MJ Hall made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> MJ Hall made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> MEJC Norman (1) passed his previous highest score of 64 in County Championship matches
--> PD Watts (1) passed his previous highest score of 42 in County Championship matches
--> PD Watts (1) passed his previous highest score of 50 in first-class matches
--> NW Hill (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 2
--> NW Hill (2) passed 3000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 20
--> JD Springall (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 89
--> JD Springall (2) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 38
--> RT Simpson (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 50





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive