Northamptonshire v Kent
County Championship 1959
VenueTown Ground, Kettering on 4th, 6th, 7th July 1959 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossKent won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNorthamptonshire won by 5 wickets
PointsNorthamptonshire 14 (Batting 2); Kent 0
UmpiresJF Crapp, TW Spencer
Close of play day 1Northamptonshire (1) 49/1 (Arnold 17*, Barrick 30*)
Close of play day 2Kent (2) 106/5 (Wilson 54*, Evans 2*)

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*AH Phebeyrun out29     
RC Wilsonb Williamson4     
SE Learyb Williamson75     
JF Pretloveb McGibbon107     
AL Dixonc PJ Watts b Tribe8     
J Pettifordlbw b Manning5     
+TG Evansc Barrick b Williamson7     
DJ Halfyardc Andrew b Williamson0     
F Ridgwayc Barrick b Williamson8     
A Brownc PD Watts b Williamson6     
JCT Pagenot out0     
Extras(7 b, 1 lb)8
Total(all out, 98.3 overs)257
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-61, 3-66, 4-176, 5-215, 6-228, 7-228, 8-244, 9-252, 10-257 (98.3 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McGibbon17   5541--
PJ Watts6   1170--
Manning20   9381--
Tribe22   6451--
PD Watts11   0480--

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
D Brookeslbw b Brown1     
AP Arnoldb Brown18     
DW Barrickb Halfyard46     
*R Subba Rowc Evans b Halfyard34     
PJ Wattsc Pretlove b Brown1     
GE Tribec Phebey b Page21     
JS Manningc Phebey b Brown30     
PD Wattsc Evans b Brown42     
+KV Andrewc Leary b Page17     
JG Williamsonnot out35     
L McGibbonb Page4     
Extras(11 b, 13 lb, 1 nb)25
Total(all out, 95 overs)274
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-56, 3-78, 4-85, 5-114, 6-141, 7-201, 8-216, 9-254, 10-274 (95 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ridgway19   9400--
Brown31   12695--
Halfyard23   3702--
Page18   2643--
Pettiford4   160--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*AH Phebeylbw b McGibbon11     
RC Wilsonc PD Watts b Manning87     
SE Learyc Andrew b McGibbon1     
JF Pretlovelbw b McGibbon16     
AL Dixonb Tribe13     
J Pettifordb Tribe2     
+TG Evansc Andrew b McGibbon14     
DJ Halfyardb Williamson0     
F Ridgwayb Tribe14     
A Brownc Williamson b Tribe1     
JCT Pagenot out0     
Extras(10 b, 1 lb, 1 w)12
Total(all out, 64.3 overs)171
Fall of wickets:
1-36, 2-44, 3-66, 4-97, 5-103, 6-132, 7-133, 8-158, 9-167, 10-171 (64.3 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McGibbon21   5464--
Williamson18   5591--
PJ Watts4   0120--
Tribe14   5254--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
D Brookesc Pretlove b Page19     
AP Arnoldlbw b Halfyard6     
DW Barrickc Halfyard b Page65     
*R Subba Rowc Leary b Page50     
PJ Wattsrun out0     
GE Tribenot out12     
JS Manningnot out1     
PD Wattsdid not bat      
+KV Andrewdid not bat      
JG Williamsondid not bat      
L McGibbondid not bat      
Extras(1 lb, 1 w)2
Total(5 wickets, 53.3 overs)155
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-33, 3-130, 4-131, 5-150
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ridgway2   040--
Brown8   370--
Halfyard9   3421--
Page19   3603--
Pettiford12   5190--
Dixon3   1200--

--> GE Tribe (1) passed 7000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 3
--> PD Watts (1) passed his previous highest score of 22 in County Championship matches
--> JG Williamson (1) passed his previous highest score of 28 in first-class matches
--> RC Wilson (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 47
--> RC Wilson (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 47
--> RC Wilson (2) passed 8000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 60
--> R Subba Row (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 42
--> JG Williamson achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Kent first innings (previous best was 3-21)
--> JG Williamson achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Kent first innings (previous best was 3-25)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive