Worcestershire v Warwickshire
County Championship 1959
VenueTipton Road, Dudley on 13th, 15th, 16th June 1959 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWorcestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWarwickshire won by 8 wickets
PointsWorcestershire 0; Warwickshire 14 (Batting 2)
UmpiresHG Baldwin, JF Crapp
Close of play day 1Warwickshire (1) 111/3 (Smith 22*, Wolton 7*)
Close of play day 2Worcestershire (2) 162/5 (Dews 50*, Booth 10*)

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*D Kenyonlbw b Wheatley6      
LF Outschoornb Wheatley7      
MJ Hortonc Townsend b Cartwright36      
DW Richardsonc Townsend b Cartwright34      
G Dewsc Spooner b Thompson5      
RGA Headleyb Thompson11      
+R Boothc Smith b Cartwright9      
DNF Sladenot out16      
DB Pearsonb Cartwright12      
JA Flavellb Wheatley1      
KJ Aldridgeb Cartwright6      
Extras(4 b, 2 lb)6
Total(all out, 69.3 overs)149
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-16, 3-78, 4-87, 5-97, 6-108, 7-114, 8-141, 9-142, 10-149 (69.3 ov)
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wheatley20   7433--
Thompson22   8482--
Townsend5   1160--

Warwickshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NF Hornerc and b Aldridge22      
WJP Stewartc Pearson b Flavell40      
TW Cartwrightb Flavell17      
*MJK Smithc and b Flavell75      
AVG Woltonc Kenyon b Horton57      
A Townsendlbw b Flavell27      
Khalid Ibadullalbw b Flavell19      
+RT Spoonerc Booth b Flavell28      
WB Bridgec Slade b Flavell0      
RG Thompsonc Horton b Pearson5      
OS Wheatleynot out3      
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)5
Total(all out, 100.4 overs)298
Fall of wickets:
1-42, 2-80, 3-83, 4-202, 5-226, 6-258, 7-269, 8-277, 9-290, 10-298 (100.4 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Aldridge24   6731--
Pearson26   6991--
Horton6   1191--
Slade3   0110--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*D Kenyonc Smith b Thompson1      
LF Outschoornlbw b Cartwright19      
MJ Hortonc Spooner b Wheatley43      
DW Richardsonc Khalid Ibadulla b Thompson15      
G Dewsc Smith b Cartwright64      
RGA Headleylbw b Cartwright5      
+R Boothb Wheatley25      
DNF Sladec Townsend b Cartwright14      
DB Pearsonb Wheatley9      
JA Flavellc Spooner b Wheatley54      
KJ Aldridgenot out8      
Extras(16 b, 4 lb, 1 nb)21
Total(all out, 96.5 overs)278
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-61, 3-67, 4-94, 5-108, 6-187, 7-195, 8-205, 9-251, 10-278 (96.5 ov)
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thompson22   4552--
Townsend3   0110--
Cartwright35   17844--
Bridge2   1140--
Khalid Ibadulla3   210--

Warwickshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NF Hornernot out69      
WJP Stewartst Booth b Slade40      
TW Cartwrightc and b Slade2      
*MJK Smithnot out18      
AVG Woltondid not bat      
A Townsenddid not bat      
Khalid Ibadulladid not bat      
+RT Spoonerdid not bat      
WB Bridgedid not bat      
RG Thompsondid not bat      
OS Wheatleydid not bat      
Extras(1 lb)1
Total(2 wickets, 44 overs)130
Fall of wickets:
1-79, 2-87
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Flavell7   0220--
Aldridge8   3140--
Pearson5   2170--
Horton10   0380--
Slade13   3372--
Richardson1   010--

--> MJK Smith (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 48
--> JA Flavell (2) passed his previous highest score of 32 in first-class matches
--> JA Flavell (2) passed his previous highest score of 32 in County Championship matches
--> JA Flavell (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 32
--> WJP Stewart (2) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 34
--> TW Cartwright achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Worcestershire first innings (previous best was 5-49)
--> TW Cartwright achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Worcestershire first innings (previous best was 5-49)
--> OS Wheatley reached 200 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Worcestershire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive