Surrey v Somerset
County Championship 1958
VenueKennington Oval, Kennington on 27th, 28th, 29th August 1958 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSurrey won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsSurrey 4 (Batting 2); Somerset 0
UmpiresJB Bowes, FS Lee
Close of play day 1Somerset (1) 4/2 (Eele 1*, Wight 3*)
Close of play day 2No play

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DGW Fletcherc Alley b Palmer41      
MJ Stewartc Eele b Lomax66      
B Constableb Langford25      
*PBH Mayb Alley52      
KF Barringtonc Eele b Langford13      
EA Bedserc McCool b Palmer22      
+AJW McIntyreb Biddulph70      
GAR Lockb Biddulph3      
D Gibsonnot out7      
JC Lakerb Palmer6      
PJ Loaderdid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 3 lb, 2 nb)8
Total(9 wickets, declared, 106.2 overs)313
Fall of wickets:
1-86, 2-120, 3-163, 4-196, 5-210, 6-250, 7-273, 8-306, 9-313 (106.2 ov)
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Biddulph20   5562--
Lomax21   5461--
Alley18   2441--
Langford22   3782--

Somerset first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Atkinsonc Barrington b Loader0      
DRW Silklbw b Gibson0      
+PJ Eelec Fletcher b Loader12      
PB Wightb Gibson8      
WE Alleyb Gibson0      
JG Lomaxb Gibson0      
CL McCoolc Lock b Loader6      
*MF Tremlettc Fletcher b Lock16      
KE Palmerc Barrington b Lock17      
BA Langfordc Fletcher b Gibson4      
KD Biddulphnot out0      
Extras(3 b)3
Total(all out, 42.1 overs)66
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-0, 3-14, 4-14, 5-14, 6-28, 7-29, 8-60, 9-66, 10-66 (42.1 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Loader10   3253--
Gibson16   7215--
Laker10   5140--

--> B Constable (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 25
--> PBH May (1) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 51
--> D Gibson reached 50 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Somerset first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive