Nottinghamshire v Leicestershire
County Championship 1958
VenueTrent Bridge, Nottingham on 9th, 11th, 12th August 1958 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNottinghamshire won the toss and decided to field
ResultLeicestershire won by 61 runs
PointsNottinghamshire 0; Leicestershire 14 (Batting 2)
UmpiresWH Copson, WE Phillipson
ScorersFN Bloxsom (Leicestershire), AB Wheat (Nottinghamshire)
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 248/2 (Gardner 59*, Revill 9*)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 51/3 (Gardner 16*, Watson 0*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Hallamc Goonesena b Smales35     
*W Watsonc Poole b Jepson141     
LR Gardnerc Millman b Jepson61     
AC Revillc Goonesena b Smales9     
J van Gelovenc Millman b Smales0     
RA Dimentlbw b Smales7     
CT Spencerc M Hill b Smales3     
+J Firthnot out5     
JS Savagenot out1     
RC Smithdid not bat      
BS Boshierdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 2 lb, 1 w)5
Total(7 wickets, declared, 97 overs)267
Fall of wickets:
1-60, 2-229, 3-248, 4-250, 5-254, 6-258, 7-264
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jepson25   8482--
Matthews14   3510--
Atkinson17   3530--
Smales25   8595--
Goonesena16   5510--

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RT Simpsonc Revill b Spencer0     
NW Hillc Watson b Savage9     
JD Clayb Spencer48     
CJ Poolec Revill b Spencer33     
M Hillc Spencer b Savage4     
G Goonesenac Hallam b Boshier41     
K Smalesc Diment b Boshier7     
T Atkinsonb Spencer11     
+G Millmanc Firth b Boshier5     
A Jepsonc van Geloven b Boshier1     
CS Matthewsnot out0     
Extras(7 b, 2 lb)9
Total(all out, 85.2 overs)168
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-33, 3-88, 4-95, 5-99, 6-121, 7-156, 8-164, 9-167, 10-168 (85.2 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Spencer20   7394--
Savage33   14612--
Smith10   4200--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Hallamb Jepson24     
J van Gelovenc Atkinson b Jepson11     
LR Gardnerb Jepson33     
+J Firthlbw b Jepson0     
*W Watsonc NW Hill b Jepson6     
AC Revillb Jepson6     
RA Dimentnot out31     
JS Savageb Jepson2     
RC Smithst Millman b Goonesena4     
CT Spencerc Goonesena b Jepson5     
BS Boshiernot out0     
Extras(6 lb)6
Total(9 wickets, declared, 55.3 overs)128
Fall of wickets:
1-28, 2-43, 3-51, 4-65, 5-79, 6-82, 7-88, 8-107, 9-122
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jepson28   11458--
Matthews13   3180--
Atkinson4   0210--

Nottinghamshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RT Simpsonb Boshier12     
NW Hillc Boshier b van Geloven17     
JD Clayc Hallam b van Geloven23     
CJ Poolec Gardner b van Geloven19     
M Hillc Savage b van Geloven21     
G Goonesenac Spencer b Smith38     
A Jepsonc van Geloven b Boshier0     
T Atkinsonb Boshier3     
CS Matthewsb Savage7     
+G Millmanb Savage0     
K Smalesnot out17     
Extras(8 b, 1 lb)9
Total(all out, 44.1 overs)166
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-48, 3-57, 4-78, 5-98, 6-103, 7-117, 8-131, 9-137, 10-166 (44.1 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Spencer14   3550--
Boshier10   1443--
Savage7   2172--
van Geloven12   2374--

--> MR Hallam (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 21
--> W Watson (1) passed 18000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 80
--> LR Gardner (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 50
--> G Goonesena (1) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 40
--> M Hill (2) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 21
--> K Smales (2) passed 2500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 5
--> A Jepson achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Leicestershire second innings (previous best was 7-34)
--> A Jepson achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Leicestershire second innings (previous best was 7-34)
--> A Jepson reached 1000 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 5th wicket in the Leicestershire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive