Nottinghamshire v Australians
Australia in British Isles 1953
VenueTrent Bridge, Nottingham on 30th May, 1st June 1953 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossAustralians won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresHG Baldwin, AE Pothecary
Close of play day 1Australians (1) 100/2 (Hole 57*, Hassett 6*)

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RT Simpsonc and b Hill65     
FW Stocksb Benaud25     
RJ Gilesc Hole b Benaud8     
J Hardstafflbw b Davidson0     
CJ Pooleb Hill14     
JD Clayb Hill2     
B Doolandc Davidson b Hill69     
HJ Butlerc Tallon b Davidson11     
G Goonesenalbw b Archer0     
A Jepsonb Hill3     
+EA Meadsnot out3     
Extras(3 b, 2 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)8
Total(all out, 84 overs)208
Fall of wickets:
1-42, 2-54, 3-55, 4-76, 5-80, 6-164, 7-177, 8-181, 9-188, 10-208 (84 ov)
Australians bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Miller11   2320--
Archer13   4211--
Hill22   7625--
Benaud16   5302--
Davidson18   2432--
Hole4   0120--

Australians first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GB Holec Meads b Goonesena69     
AR Morrisc Meads b Jepson15     
CC McDonaldlbw b Dooland18     
*AL Hassettc Dooland b Goonesena62     
KR Millerc Simpson b Stocks48     
JH de Courcylbw b Jepson1     
RG Archernot out29     
AK Davidsonnot out38     
+D Tallondid not bat      
R Benauddid not bat      
JC Hilldid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 4 lb)10
Total(6 wickets, 91.4 overs)290
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-82, 3-144, 4-183, 5-185, 6-229
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jepson30   5672--
Goonesena18   1842--
Dooland34   11831--

--> GB Hole (1) passed 2500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 34
--> CC McDonald (1) passed 2500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 18

Ths match was restricted to two days because of the Coronation but was still ruled First-Class despite falling short of the minimum duration for a First-Class match under the 1947 ICC ruling





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive