Oxford University v Yorkshire
University Match 1953
VenueThe University Parks, Oxford on 13th, 14th, 15th May 1953 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresF Chester, D Hendren
Close of play day 1Oxford University (1) 422/9d
Close of play day 2Yorkshire (1) 75/2 (Hutton 35*, Watson 5*)

Oxford University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HB Birrellc Hutton b Cowan114     
JC Marshalllbw b Holdsworth40     
CCP Williamsc Brennan b Cowan54     
MC Cowdreyb Cowan4     
*AL Dowdingb Illingworth99     
JP Fellows-Smithc Brennan b Holdsworth4     
JA Arenholdb Holdsworth2     
+AP Walshelbw b Halliday1     
DCPR Jowettc Brennan b Illingworth51     
DK Faskennot out28     
JM Allannot out12     
Extras(8 lb, 5 nb)13
Total(9 wickets, declared, 126 overs)422
Fall of wickets:
1-82, 2-205, 3-213, 4-230, 5-236, 6-240, 7-253, 8-378, 9-382
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cowan26   2803--
Holdsworth25   4803--
Yardley21   5550--
Hutton21   6770--
Halliday20   2711--
Illingworth13   2462--

Yorkshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
L Huttonnot out35     
EI Lesterb Fasken10     
JV Wilsonc Arenhold b Allan19     
W Watsonnot out5     
H Hallidaydid not bat      
WHH Sutcliffedid not bat      
*NWD Yardleydid not bat      
R Illingworthdid not bat      
MJ Cowandid not bat      
+DV Brennandid not bat      
WEN Holdsworthdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 4 lb)6
Total(2 wickets, 38 overs)75
Fall of wickets:
1-33, 2-64
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Fasken13   3421--
Arenhold12   1200--
Jowett6   370--
Allan7   701--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> JA Arenhold made his debut in first-class matches
--> JM Allan made his debut in first-class matches
--> HB Birrell (1) passed his previous highest score of 83 in first-class matches
--> HB Birrell (1) made his first century in first-class matches
--> DCPR Jowett (1) passed his previous highest score of 27 in first-class matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive