Oxford University v Gentlemen of England
University Match 1884
VenueThe University Parks, Oxford on 19th, 20th, 21st May 1884 (3-day match)
Balls per over4
TossGentlemen of England won the toss and decided to bat
ResultGentlemen of England won by 31 runs
UmpiresVA Titchmarsh, GW Webb
Close of play day 1Oxford University (1) 212 all out
Close of play day 2Oxford University (2) 73/5 (Page 8*)

Gentlemen of England first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*ID Walkerc Kemp b Whitby5      
AJ Webbec Key b Bastard8      
JG Walkerb Bastard25      
GF Vernonb Bastard11      
TS Pearsonc Nicholls b Whitby10      
SS Schultzb Whitby7      
EJC Studdc Kemp b Bastard31      
WEW Collinsst Kemp b Whitby7      
H Rotherhamc O'Brien b Whitby0      
S Christophersonb Page24      
+GAB Leathamnot out3      
Extras(7 b, 2 lb)9
Total(all out, 56.1 overs)140
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-13, 3-31, 4-56, 5-74, 6-87, 7-87, 8-127, 9-127, 10-140 (56.1 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Whitby24   4675--
Page4   321--
Nicholls4   280--

Oxford University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TC O'Brienc Rotherham b Christopherson13      
TR Hine-Haycockb Rotherham17      
AR Cobbc Leatham b Rotherham8      
HV Pagec Webbe b Rotherham72      
*+MC Kempb Rotherham8      
KJ Keyc Schultz b Christopherson47      
AGG Asherc Leatham b Rotherham17      
JH Brainb Rotherham0      
BE Nichollsc Christopherson b Rotherham10      
HO Whitbynot out2      
EW Bastardc and b Rotherham0      
Extras(16 b, 1 lb, 1 w)18
Total(all out, 89 overs)212
Fall of wickets:
1-29, 2-41, 3-50, 4-58, 5-166, 6-198, 7-198, 8-210, 9-210, 10-212 (89 ov)
Gentlemen of England bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rotherham36   16578--
Christopherson34   14742--
ID Walker6   1310--
Collins8   3220--
Webbe5   2100--

Gentlemen of England second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*ID Walkerb Page55      
AJ Webberun out17      
JG Walkerc Brain b Page92      
GF Vernonc Page b Bastard4      
TS Pearsonb Key38      
SS Schultzc Brain b Nicholls63      
EJC Studdc Brain b Page31      
WEW Collinsb Key16      
H Rotherhamb Nicholls4      
S Christophersonc Hine-Haycock b Nicholls6      
+GAB Leathamnot out0      
Extras(8 b, 3 lb)11
Total(all out, 149.2 overs)337
Fall of wickets:
1-80, 2-183, 3-186, 4-201, 5-212, 6-282, 7-304, 8-317, 9-332, 10-337 (149.2 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bastard38   15651--
Whitby25   1840--
Page36   9803--
Key15   4322--

Oxford University second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TC O'Brienc Collins b Rotherham0      
TR Hine-Haycockb Christopherson0      
AR Cobbb Christopherson8      
HV Pageb Rotherham29      
*+MC Kempst Leatham b Pearson33      
KJ Keyb Rotherham19      
AGG Asherb Rotherham43      
JH Brainb Rotherham22      
BE Nichollsc Studd b Christopherson44      
HO Whitbyc Leatham b Rotherham21      
EW Bastardnot out11      
Extras(4 b)4
Total(all out, 90.1 overs)234
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-0, 3-23, 4-51, 5-73, 6-113, 7-120, 8-190, 9-205, 10-234 (90.1 ov)
Gentlemen of England bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Christopherson38   14973--
Webbe2   030--
Pearson6   0281--
Schultz3   090--

--> EJC Studd (1) passed his previous highest score of 18 in first-class matches
--> WEW Collins made his debut in first-class matches
--> EJC Studd (2) equalled his previous highest score of 31 in first-class matches
--> MC Kemp (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 30
--> JH Brain (2) passed his previous highest score of 17 in first-class matches
--> BE Nicholls (2) passed his previous highest score of 16 in first-class matches
--> HO Whitby (2) passed his previous highest score of 10 in first-class matches
--> H Rotherham achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Oxford University first innings (previous best was 7-74)
--> HV Page reached 50 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Gentlemen of England second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive