Nottinghamshire v Essex
County Championship 1951
VenueTrent Bridge, Nottingham on 23rd, 24th, 25th May 1951 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossEssex won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
PointsNottinghamshire 0; Essex 4
UmpiresJS Buller, E Robinson
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2Nottinghamshire (1) 82/6 (Smales 1*, Harvey 0*)

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WW Keetonb R Smith11     
*RT Simpsonb R Smith16     
CJ Pooleb Preston4     
J Hardstaffc Avery b Bailey7     
RJ Gilesc Vigar b R Smith21     
FW Stocksb Bailey11     
K Smalesb R Smith1     
PF Harveyb R Smith5     
HJ Butlerlbw b R Smith3     
+EA Meadsc Preston b Bailey1     
A Richardsonnot out0     
Extras(4 b, 9 lb)13
Total(all out, 54.2 overs)93
Fall of wickets:
1-30, 2-35, 3-35, 4-55, 5-77, 6-82, 7-84, 8-92, 9-93, 10-93 (54.2 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bailey21   10203--
Preston14   5211--
R Smith19.26396--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TC Doddsb Butler20     
AV Averyst Meads b Hardstaff100 210   
+PA Gibbc Poole b Stocks8     
R Horsfallb Richardson15     
*DJ Insoleb Harvey29     
TE Baileyc Meads b Stocks20     
FH Vigarnot out42     
WT Greensmithnot out2     
R Smithdid not bat      
TPB Smithdid not bat      
KC Prestondid not bat      
Extras(2 lb, 5 w)7
Total(6 wickets, 94 overs)243
Fall of wickets:
1-29, 2-52, 3-82, 4-133, 5-167, 6-214
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Butler12   4241--
Richardson16   2481--
Stocks16   7282--
Harvey20   5511--
Smales17   2550--
Simpson5   180--
Hardstaff5   371--
Giles3   0150--

--> AV Avery (1) passed 9500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 69
--> TE Bailey (1) passed 3000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 9
--> TE Bailey reached 450 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Nottinghamshire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive