Essex v Hampshire
County Championship 1950
VenueGidea Park Sports Ground, Romford on 24th, 25th, 26th May 1950 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossHampshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsEssex 0; Hampshire 0
UmpiresFS Lee, HW Parks
Close of play day 1Essex (1) 2/0 (Avery 2*, Dodds 0*)
Close of play day 2No play

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+NT McCorkellb TPB Smith35      
NH Rogersb Preston7      
G Hilllbw b TPB Smith9      
J Arnoldc Insole b TPB Smith141      
JR Graylbw b TPB Smith13      
C Walkerb Vigar66      
*EDR Eagarc Avery b Vigar2      
D Shackletonc Wade b Bailey18      
RA Darec Avery b TPB Smith1      
VHD Canningsnot out0      
CJ Knottb Bailey0      
Extras(2 b, 8 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)14
Total(all out, 130 overs)306
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-35, 3-92, 4-124, 5-265, 6-283, 7-295, 8-306, 9-306, 10-306 (130 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bailey30   8502--
Preston19   2741--
TPB Smith50   20865--
R Smith17   5440--
Vigar14   1382--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AV Averyc Rogers b Shackleton14      
TC Doddsc Rogers b Knott55      
SJ Crayc Eagar b Dare10      
FH Vigarc McCorkell b Cannings19      
DJ Insolerun out5      
*TE Baileyc McCorkell b Cannings79      
TN Pearcec Rogers b Shackleton18      
R Smithc Shackleton b Dare12      
TPB Smithc Rogers b Shackleton69      
+TH Wadenot out3      
KC Prestonnot out1      
Extras(2 b, 2 w)4
Total(9 wickets, 115 overs)289
Fall of wickets:
1-24, 2-49, 3-98, 4-98, 5-105, 6-146, 7-169, 8-278, 9-288
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Shackleton24   6623--
Cannings32   9572--
Knott26   6711--
Dare30   8792--
Hill3   0160--

--> J Arnold (1) passed 21000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 29
--> C Walker (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 45
--> TC Dodds (1) passed 7000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 9





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive