Marylebone Cricket Club v Ireland A
Ireland A in England 2008
VenueBrunton Memorial Ground, Radlett on 5th, 6th, 7th August 2008 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossMarylebone Cricket Club won the toss and decided to field
ResultMarylebone Cricket Club won by 2 wickets
UmpiresI Dawood, TC Magee
Close of play day 1Ireland A (1) 159/4
Close of play day 2Marylebone Cricket Club (1) 176/6 (Nicol 34*, Newell 35*; 53 overs)

Ireland A first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
C Doughertyc Campbell b Gilbert5      
+RD McCannlbw b Hawk20      
DS Kennedyc Gilbert b Savill2      
RM Westc Campbell b Cooray71      
*RS Haireretired out123      
M Jonesc Arfan Akram b Cooray69      
AK Riddlesc and b Nicol10      
DA Rankinc Newell b Cooray0      
AJ Coulterb Nicol7      
GM McKennac Savill b Nicol4      
N Gillnot out1      
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 7 w)10
Total(all out, 95 overs)322
Fall of wickets:
1-5 (Dougherty), 2-13 (Kennedy), 3-63 (McCann), 4-136 (West), 5-285 (Jones), 6-310 (Haire), 7-310 (Rankin), 8-310 (Riddles), 9-321 (Coulter), 10-322 (McKenna, 95 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Savill12   0541--
Gilbert18   3771--
Hawk8   2271--
Cooray29   8773--
Malan17   3440--
Nicol11   4403--

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GD Jameslbw b Coulter1      
SLJM Hawklbw b McKenna2      
KAO Barrettc Rankin b Coulter8      
Arfan Akramc Rankin b Jones62      
CC Malanc McCann b West26      
RJ Nicolnot out34      
+GRA Campbellc Rankin b West0      
*K Newellnot out35      
TE Savilldid not bat      
MNR Cooraydid not bat      
RG Gilbertdid not bat      
Extras(4 lb, 2 nb, 2 w)8
Total(6 wickets, declared, 53 overs)176
Fall of wickets:
1-3 (James), 2-5 (Hawk), 3-19 (Barrett), 4-104 (Arfan Akram), 5-104 (Malan), 6-104 (Campbell)
Ireland A bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenna10   0371--
Coulter10   4282--
Gill9   1320--
West20   3642--
Jones4   0111--

Ireland A second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
C Doughertyc and b Cooray23      
DA Rankinc Nicol b Malan32      
DS Kennedynot out82      
AK Riddlesc Barrett b Malan9      
M Jonesnot out23      
+RD McCanndid not bat      
RM Westdid not bat      
*RS Hairedid not bat      
AJ Coulterdid not bat      
GM McKennadid not bat      
N Gilldid not bat      
Extras(3 lb, 1 w)4
Total(3 wickets, declared, 44 overs)173
Fall of wickets:
1-44 (Dougherty), 2-79 (Rankin), 3-92 (Riddles)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gilbert9   3350--
Hawk5   1140--
Cooray17   5621--
Malan13   2592--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GD Jamesc Kennedy b West100      
SLJM Hawkc and b Coulter24      
KAO Barrettc and b West12      
Arfan Akramc sub (L Patternott) b Haire59      
CC Malanst McCann b West24      
RJ Nicolb West55      
TE Savillc sub (L Patternott) b Haire3      
+GRA Campbellc McCann b Haire7      
*K Newellnot out21      
MNR Cooraynot out1      
RG Gilbertdid not bat      
Extras(5 lb, 1 nb, 3 w, 5 pen)14
Total(8 wickets, 47 overs)320
Fall of wickets:
1-64 (Hawk), 2-105 (Barrett), 3-180 (James), 4-221 (Malan), 5-250 (Arfan Akram), 6-259 (Savill), 7-274 (Campbell), 8-313 (Nicol)
Ireland A bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenna8   0350--
Coulter10   1671--
Gill2   0210--
West16   01104--
Jones1   0130--
Riddles4   0310--
Haire6   0333--

The match celebrated the 150th anniversary of the first ever match between Ireland and MCC
During the Ireland second innings 5 penalty runs were awarded to MCC for batsment running down the middle of the wicket. They were added to the MCC total at the very beginning of their innings.
Newall won for the MCC with a six of the last ball of the match.
Paternott was a local club player, who fielded substitute for various Ireland players





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive