Holkar v Baroda
Ranji Trophy 1948/49 (Semi-Final)
VenueYeshwant Club Ground, Indore on 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th March 1949 (timeless match)
Balls per over6
TossHolkar won the toss and decided to bat
ResultBaroda won by 9 wickets
Close of play day 1Baroda (1) 127/2 (Adhikari 63*, Vijay S Hazare 40*)
Close of play day 2Holkar (2) 9/0 (Kunzru 1*, Nivsarkar 5*)
Close of play day 3Holkar (2) 219/8 (Jagdale 20*, Bhatnagar 7*)

Holkar first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GN Kunzruc Baroda b Vijay S Hazare1      
+NR Nivsarkarc Baroda b Vijay S Hazare7      
S Mushtaq Alib Sohoni18      
*CK Nayuduc Vichare b Sohoni24 554-  
CT Sarwatec and b Vivek S Hazare1      
MM Jagdalec Adhikari b Vijay S Hazare16      
CS Nayuduc Nimbalkar b Vijay S Hazare15      
HG Gaekwadc Vichare b Sohoni27      
M Salim Khanc Adhikari b Sohoni17      
K Bhatnagarlbw b Sohoni5      
R Jagdishchandra Singhnot out1      
Total(all out, 51 overs)133
Fall of wickets:
1-1 (Kunzru), 2-14 (Nivsarkar), 3-50 (Mushtaq Ali), 4-51 (CK Nayudu), 5-51 (Sarwate), 6-70 (CS Nayudu), 7-94 (Jagdale), 8-125 (Salim Khan), 9-128 (Gaekwad), 10-133 (Bhatnagar, 51 ov)
Baroda bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sohoni23   3695--
Vijay S Hazare17   2454--
Vivek S Hazare7   2111--
Shinde3   070--
Gul Mohammad1   100--

Baroda first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SW Sohonic CK Nayudu b Gaekwad1      
SK Vicharelbw b Sarwate21      
HR Adhikarilbw b Gaekwad94 2417-  
Vijay S Hazarelbw b Gaekwad130 30111-  
Gul Mohammadlbw b Gaekwad31 385-  
Maharaja of Barodalbw b CS Nayudu16      
*+RB Nimbalkarc Salim Khan b Gaekwad0      
DK Gaekwadc Jagdishchandra Singh b CS Nayudu7      
JM Ghorpadec Nivsarkar b Gaekwad5      
SG Shindec Jagdale b Gaekwad19      
Vivek S Hazarenot out10      
Total(all out, 174 overs)349
Fall of wickets:
1-10 (Sohoni), 2-37 (Vichare), 3-217 (Adhikari), 4-266 (Gul Mohammad), 5-306 (Vijay S Hazare), 6-306 (Baroda), 7-310 (Nimbalkar), 8-320 (Gaekwad), 9-320 (Ghorpade), 10-349 (Shinde, 174 ov)
Holkar bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gaekwad69   41677--
Jagdale16   5320--
CK Nayudu30   7640--
Sarwate24   6661--
CS Nayudu32   8922--
Salim Khan1   020--
Bhatnagar2   0110--

Holkar second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GN Kunzrulbw b Vijay S Hazare11      
+NR Nivsarkarb Shinde26      
S Mushtaq Alic Nimbalkar b Vivek S Hazare16      
*CK Nayudulbw b Vijay S Hazare55 2005-  
CT Sarwatec Gaekwad b Shinde0      
CS Nayuduc Vivek S Hazare b Shinde74 2066-  
MM Jagdalec Gaekwad b Shinde40      
HG Gaekwadb Shinde0      
M Salim Khanlbw b Vijay S Hazare1      
K Bhatnagarb Vijay S Hazare8      
R Jagdishchandra Singhnot out0      
Total(all out, 123.3 overs)240
Fall of wickets:
1-28 (Kunzru), 2-54 (Nivsarkar), 3-62 (Mushtaq Ali), 4-64 (Sarwate), 5-180 (CK Nayudu), 6-196 (CS Nayudu), 7-198 (Gaekwad), 8-205 (Salim Khan), 9-230 (Bhatnagar), 10-240 (Jagdale, 123.3 ov)
Baroda bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sohoni26   3670--
Vijay S Hazare38   14684--
Vivek S Hazare12   881--
Gul Mohammad4   1120--
Adhikari4   220--
Ghorpade1   030--

Baroda second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SW Sohonic Jagdishchandra Singh b Gaekwad8      
SK Vicharenot out13      
JM Ghorpadenot out4      
HR Adhikaridid not bat      
Vijay S Hazaredid not bat      
Gul Mohammaddid not bat      
Maharaja of Barodadid not bat      
*+RB Nimbalkardid not bat      
DK Gaekwaddid not bat      
SG Shindedid not bat      
Vivek S Hazaredid not bat      
Total(1 wicket, 9.4 overs)25
Fall of wickets:
1-? (Sohoni)
Holkar bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gaekwad5   291--
Jagdale2   050--
CS Nayudu2.41110--

--> R Jagdishchandra Singh made his debut in Ranji Trophy matches
--> R Jagdishchandra Singh made his debut in first-class matches
--> VS Hazare (1) 50 in 68 minutes
--> VS Hazare (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 33
--> Gul Mohammad (1) passed 4000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 16
--> HG Gaekwad achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches when he dismissed SG Shinde in the Baroda first innings (previous best was 6-42)
--> HG Gaekwad achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Ranji Trophy matches when he dismissed SG Shinde in the Baroda first innings (previous best was 6-42)
--> SG Shinde reached 50 wickets in Ranji Trophy matches when he dismissed MM Jagdale, his 5th wicket in the Holkar second innings
--> VS Hazare reached 400 wickets in first-class matches when he dismissed M Salim Khan, his 3rd wicket in the Holkar second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive