Somerset v Worcestershire
County Championship 1948
VenueCounty Ground, Taunton on 24th, 26th, 27th July 1948 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWorcestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWorcestershire won by 174 runs
PointsSomerset 0; Worcestershire 12
UmpiresH Cruice, E Robinson
Close of play day 1Somerset (1) 64/1 (Hill 28*, Meyer 8*)
Close of play day 2Worcestershire (2) 249/6 (Dews 6*, Outschoorn 25*)

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
F Cooperc Tremlett b Hazell41     
E Cooperst Luckes b Lawrence56     
CH Palmerc Coope b Hazell47     
RES Wyattlbw b Hazell4     
RO Jenkinsb Buse30     
R Howorthc Hill b Lawrence13     
G Dewsc Langdale b Hazell9     
LF Outschoornc Woodhouse b Langdale8     
*AFT Whitenot out60     
+CRN Maxwellc Woodhouse b Tremlett22     
RTD Perksb Tremlett0     
Extras(6 lb, 1 nb)7
Total(all out, 106.3 overs)297
Fall of wickets:
1-88, 2-104, 3-116, 4-162, 5-182, 6-205, 7-214, 8-214, 9-297, 10-297 (106.3 ov)
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Buse8   1221--
Meyer13   2360-1
Lawrence31   31022--
Hazell35   13694--
Langdale6   0251--

Somerset first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
H Gimblettc Maxwell b Perks44     
E Hillc Howorth b Palmer66     
RJO Meyerc Dews b Palmer10     
M Coopec E Cooper b Perks18     
HFT Busec White b Palmer7     
*GES Woodhousec Wyatt b Perks4     
J Lawrencelbw b Howorth40     
GR Langdaleb Perks25     
MF Tremlettc Maxwell b Howorth1     
+WT Luckesb Perks0     
HL Hazellnot out0     
Extras(1 b, 7 lb, 1 nb)9
Total(all out, 91.1 overs)224
Fall of wickets:
1-75, 2-94, 3-141, 4-148, 5-156, 6-156, 7-214, 8-224, 9-224, 10-224 (91.1 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Perks32   12635-1
Outschoorn6   2100--
Palmer24   9633--
Jenkins16   2460--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
F Cooperb Buse1     
E Cooperst Luckes b Hazell115     
CH Palmerc Hazell b Tremlett9     
RES Wyattb Langdale32     
RO Jenkinslbw b Hazell18     
R Howorthc Gimblett b Meyer38     
G Dewsrun out6     
LF Outschoornnot out60     
+CRN Maxwellb Buse1     
*AFT Whitenot out3     
RTD Perksdid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 6 lb)11
Total(8 wickets, declared, 92 overs)294
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-16, 3-74, 4-115, 5-202, 6-212, 7-281, 8-282
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tremlett12   3461--
Buse18   3552--
Lawrence6   0300--
Hazell30   9522--
Langdale20   4741--
Meyer6   0261--

Somerset second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
H Gimblettc Wyatt b Howorth62     
E Hillc Jenkins b Howorth47     
RJO Meyerlbw b Howorth12     
M Coopec Maxwell b Jenkins3     
GR Langdalec Jenkins b Howorth0     
J Lawrenceb Howorth10     
*GES Woodhousec Outschoorn b Howorth2     
HFT Buserun out28     
MF Tremlettc Palmer b Howorth10     
+WT Luckesb Jenkins2     
HL Hazellnot out9     
Extras(8 b)8
Total(all out, 59.5 overs)193
Fall of wickets:
1-105, 2-119, 3-128, 4-128, 5-129, 6-140, 7-155, 8-167, 9-179, 10-193 (59.5 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Perks7   0410--
Outschoorn2   0140--
Palmer8   0340--
Jenkins19   6412--

--> RJO Meyer made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> CH Palmer (1) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 29
--> H Gimblett (1) passed 11500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 30
--> RJO Meyer (1) passed 4500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 1
--> E Cooper (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 83
--> RO Jenkins (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 9
--> HFT Buse reached 350 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Worcestershire first innings
--> HL Hazell reached 550 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Worcestershire first innings
--> R Howorth reached 850 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Somerset first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive