Glamorgan v Nottinghamshire
County Championship 1948
VenueSt Helen's, Swansea on 23rd, 24th, 25th June 1948 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGlamorgan won the toss and decided to bat
ResultGlamorgan won by 221 runs
PointsGlamorgan 12; Nottinghamshire 0
UmpiresWH Ashdown, A Skelding
Close of play day 1Nottinghamshire (1) 18/0 (Keeton 6*, Harris 11*)
Close of play day 2Glamorgan (2) 156/3 (Jones 19*, Wooller 16*)

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DE Daviesc and b Woodhead31     
PB Cliftc Woodhead b Harvey24     
WGA Parkhousest Meads b Harvey6     
WE Jonesc Jepson b Harvey62     
AJ Watkinsb Harvey7     
JT Eaglestoneb Jepson27     
JE Pleassb Jepson8     
*W Woollerb Jepson80     
BL Muncerb Butler49     
+HG Daviesc Simpson b Butler14     
WMS Tricknot out0     
Extras(11 b, 8 lb, 2 nb)21
Total(all out, 122.2 overs)329
Fall of wickets:
1-51, 2-67, 3-73, 4-87, 5-153, 6-163, 7-188, 8-306, 9-308, 10-329 (122.2 ov)
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jepson20   3743--
Harvey33   11844--
Woodhead40   12781--
Winrow10   4170--

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WW Keetonb Wooller22     
CB Harrisc Pleass b Muncer47     
*RT Simpsonc Muncer b Trick9     
FH Winrowc HG Davies b Muncer35     
FW Stockslbw b Trick1     
CJ Poolec Watkins b Muncer10     
PF Harveyst HG Davies b Trick20     
A Jepsonb Muncer47     
HJ Butlerlbw b Wooller2     
FG Woodheadb Muncer6     
+EA Meadsnot out11     
Extras(7 lb)7
Total(all out, 104 overs)217
Fall of wickets:
1-45, 2-61, 3-101, 4-102, 5-123, 6-131, 7-179, 8-182, 9-193, 10-217 (104 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Watkins6   1160--
Wooller17   4452--
Muncer46   18695--
Trick35   14803--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DE Daviesc Woodhead b Harris75     
PB Cliftc sub b Woodhead0     
WGA Parkhousest Meads b Woodhead45     
WE Jonesnot out34     
*W Woollerc Meads b Woodhead17     
+HG Daviesc Simpson b Woodhead0     
JT Eaglestonenot out14     
AJ Watkinsdid not bat      
JE Pleassdid not bat      
BL Muncerdid not bat      
WMS Trickdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb)2
Total(5 wickets, declared, 50 overs)187
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-100, 3-128, 4-163, 5-163
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jepson19   2470--
Woodhead18   0844--
Harvey3   0220--
Harris10   1321--

Nottinghamshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WW Keetonb Muncer22     
CB Harrisb Trick12     
*RT Simpsonlbw b Muncer0     
FH Winrowc Muncer b Trick7     
FW Stocksc Watkins b Muncer2     
PF Harveyc Watkins b Jones8     
CJ Poolec Pleass b Muncer2     
A Jepsonnot out7     
HJ Butlerb Jones2     
+EA Meadsc Watkins b Muncer3     
FG Woodheadc Watkins b Muncer0     
Extras(5 b, 8 lb)13
Total(all out, 52.1 overs)78
Fall of wickets:
1-30, 2-34, 3-34, 4-38, 5-44, 6-47, 7-67, 8-69, 9-78, 10-78 (52.1 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wooller7   1190--
Watkins5   170--
Trick20   9242--
Jones1   022--

--> CJ Poole made his debut in first-class matches
--> CJ Poole made his debut in County Championship matches
--> WE Jones (1) passed 3000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 18
--> W Wooller (1) passed 3500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 78
--> DE Davies (2) passed 18500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 56
--> WE Jones (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 3
--> PF Harvey achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Glamorgan first innings (previous best was 3-46)
--> PF Harvey achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Glamorgan first innings (previous best was 3-46)
--> FG Woodhead reached 250 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Glamorgan second innings
--> BL Muncer reached 200 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Nottinghamshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive