Essex v Yorkshire
County Championship 1947
VenueSouthchurch Park, Southend-on-Sea on 27th, 28th, 29th August 1947 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossYorkshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsEssex 4; Yorkshire 0
UmpiresHG Baldwin, F Chester
Close of play day 1Essex (1) 35/1 (Dodds 20*, Crabtree 6*)
Close of play day 2Yorkshire (2) 33/0 (Hutton 16*, Halliday 17*)

Yorkshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
L Huttonb Vigar197 27018- 
H Hallidayc Wade b Bailey20     
EI Lesterc TPB Smith b Bailey13     
W Watsonb TPB Smith71     
NWD Yardleyb Vigar21     
*AB Sellerslbw b Vigar0     
A Coxonc Insole b Vigar15     
R Aspinallc Vigar b R Smith31     
JH Wardleb Bailey26     
+DV Brennanc Wade b Bailey1     
EP Robinsonnot out3     
Extras(1 lb, 2 nb)3
Total(all out, 112.4 overs)401
Fall of wickets:
1-67, 2-89, 3-281, 4-324, 5-324, 6-325, 7-360, 8-397, 9-397, 10-401 (112.4 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
R Smith28   41021-1
TPB Smith43   31481--
Vigar23   4754--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TC Doddslbw b Aspinall24     
SJ Crayb Coxon4     
HP Crabtreec Halliday b Coxon48     
FH Vigarlbw b Aspinall84     
R Horsfallc Wardle b Lester36     
TPB Smithc Yardley b Robinson32     
TE Baileyb Wardle33     
DR Wilcoxc Coxon b Wardle64     
DJ Insolec Sellers b Wardle0     
R Smithnot out86     
+TH Wadelbw b Halliday0     
Extras(39 b, 4 lb, 6 nb, 8 w)57
Total(all out, 136.1 overs)468
Fall of wickets:
1-24, 2-52, 3-121, 4-197, 5-251, 6-290, 7-304, 8-308, 9-468, 10-468 (136.1 ov)
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Aspinall29   4108286
Coxon13   2462--
Yardley20   6560--
Wardle38   71123--
Robinson32   8751--
Lester2   071--

Yorkshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
L Huttonst Wade b TPB Smith104     
H Hallidayc Vigar b R Smith80     
EI Lesterb R Smith55     
W Watsonc TPB Smith b R Smith0     
JH Wardleb TPB Smith2     
EP Robinsonc Wade b TPB Smith2     
NWD Yardleyc Horsfall b TPB Smith2     
*AB Sellersc Wade b TPB Smith0     
R Aspinallc Wade b TPB Smith22     
A Coxonnot out3     
+DV Brennanabsent hurt
Extras(9 lb, 1 nb)10
Total(all out, 78.3 overs)280
Fall of wickets:
1-189, 2-201, 3-207, 4-210, 5-220, 6-228, 7-228, 8-270, 9-280 (78.3 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bailey9   0260-1
R Smith31   5863--
Vigar10   0390--
TPB Smith28.311196--

Essex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TC Doddsnot out51     
HP Crabtreelbw b Yardley13     
FH Vigarb Aspinall4     
R Horsfallnot out23     
SJ Craydid not bat      
TPB Smithdid not bat      
TE Baileydid not bat      
DR Wilcoxdid not bat      
DJ Insoledid not bat      
R Smithdid not bat      
+TH Wadedid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 1 lb, 1 nb)4
Total(2 wickets, 28 overs)95
Fall of wickets:
1-28, 2-35
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Aspinall9   0451-1
Yardley8   1261--
Wardle6   0120--
Robinson5   280--

--> DR Wilcox made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> L Hutton (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 20
--> L Hutton (1) passed 9000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 62
--> L Hutton (1) passed 17000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 10
--> TPB Smith (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 27
--> DR Wilcox (1) passed 5000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 27
--> R Smith (1) passed 3500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 86
--> L Hutton (2) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 72
--> TC Dodds (2) passed 3000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 12
--> R Horsfall (2) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 7
--> R Smith reached 450 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Yorkshire second innings
--> R Smith reached 400 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Yorkshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive