Oxford University v Combined Services
University Match 1947
VenueThe University Parks, Oxford on 7th, 9th June 1947 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossOxford University won the toss and decided to field
ResultOxford University won by 8 wickets
UmpiresSA Hipple, W Martin
Close of play day 1Oxford University (1) 131/6 (Bloy 37*, Robinson 0*)

Combined Services first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JG Dewesc Robinson b Whitcombe0  -- 
WEG Paytonnot out33  5- 
FC Boysc Kardar b Henley9  -- 
FSR Johnsonc Pawson b Whitcombe11  1- 
GES Woodhousec Gracey b Kardar19  2- 
AC Shirreffc Donnelly b Sutton0  -- 
WME Whitec Robinson b Sutton0  -- 
JP Whiteheadc Robinson b Sutton2  -- 
+BRM Haylesc Kardar b Sutton3  -- 
JHG Deightonc Keighley b Kardar0  -- 
BJK Pryerc Whitcombe b Kardar0  -- 
Extras(5 b, 2 lb)7
Total(all out, 38.5 overs)84
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Dewes), 2-25 (Boys), 3-37 (Johnson), 4-77 (Woodhouse), 5-78 (Shirreff), 6-78 (White), 7-80 (Whitehead), 8-84 (Hayles), 9-84 (Deighton), 10-84 (Pryer, 38.5 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Whitcombe9   6102--
Henley10   0441--
Sutton5   324--
Robinson4   0140--

Oxford University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PBK Graceyc Boys b Whitehead7  -- 
WG Keighleyc Shirreff b Whitehead0  -- 
PA Whitcombec Boys b Deighton5  -- 
HA Pawsonc White b Shirreff17  1- 
NCF Bloylbw b Deighton48  7- 
AH Kardarc and b Whitehead10  2- 
*MP Donnellyst Hayles b Pryer49  10- 
HBO Robinsonb Whitehead7  1- 
DF Henleyc Whitehead b White18  21 
+DC Moneynot out27  3- 
MA Suttonc Dewes b Shirreff13  2- 
Extras(10 b, 1 lb, 1 nb)12
Total(all out, 68 overs)213
Fall of wickets:
1-3 (Keighley), 2-10 (Whitcombe), 3-18 (Gracey), 4-41 (Pawson), 5-57 (Kardar), 6-120 (Donnelly), 7-151 (Bloy), 8-151 (Robinson), 9-177 (Henley), 10-213 (Sutton, 68 ov)
Combined Services bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Deighton19   5522--
Whitehead20   2664--
Shirreff14   2492-1
White12   5271--
Pryer3   171--

Combined Services second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JG Dewesc Robinson b Henley60  5- 
WEG Paytonc Pawson b Kardar13  -- 
FC Boyslbw b Kardar2  -- 
FSR Johnsonlbw b Whitcombe0  -- 
GES Woodhousec Henley b Whitcombe39  41 
AC Shirreffc Gracey b Sutton25  4- 
WME Whiteb Kardar17  3- 
JP Whiteheadst Money b Kardar5  1- 
+BRM Haylesc Donnelly b Kardar0  -- 
JHG Deightonnot out3  -- 
BJK Pryerc Money b Whitcombe1  -- 
Extras(11 b, 5 lb)16
Total(all out, 82.4 overs)181
Fall of wickets:
1-28 (Payton), 2-38 (Boys), 3-43 (Johnson), 4-122 (Woodhouse), 5-122 (Dewes), 6-170 (Shirreff), 7-170 (White), 8-175 (Whitehead), 9-176 (Hayles), 10-181 (Pryer, 82.4 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Henley8   1251--
Kardar29   12365--
Sutton19   11271--
Robinson3   0160--
Bloy9   1190--
Donnelly1   020--

Oxford University second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PBK Graceyb White17  1- 
WG Keighleynot out30  5- 
PA Whitcombeb White3  -- 
DF Henleynot out0  -- 
HA Pawsondid not bat      
NCF Bloydid not bat      
AH Kardardid not bat      
*MP Donnellydid not bat      
HBO Robinsondid not bat      
+DC Moneydid not bat      
MA Suttondid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 2 nb)5
Total(2 wickets, 21.1 overs)55
Fall of wickets:
1-47 (Gracey), 2-51 (Whitcombe)
Combined Services bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Whitehead4   1110-1
Shirreff4   1160-1
White7   362--

--> The match was scheduled for three days but completed in two.
--> DC Money made his debut in first-class matches
--> FSR Johnson made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> DC Money made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> FSR Johnson made his debut in England in first-class matches
--> JP Whitehead achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches when he dismissed WG Keighley in the Oxford University first innings (previous best was 0-7)
--> AH Kardar reached 50 wickets in first-class matches when he dismissed FC Boys, his 2nd wicket in the Combined Services second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive