Devon v Northumberland
Other matches in England 1869
VenueWJ Page's New Ground, Tufnell Park on 23rd, 24th July 1869 (2-day match)
Balls per over4
TossNorthumberland won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNorthumberland won by an innings and 113 runs
UmpiresW Inwood, Paul
Close of play day 1Devon (1) 34/4 (Style 13*)

Northumberland first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HC Armstrongc and b Estridge4      
C Thompsonb Abraham55      
+AJ Elliotb [unknown]13      
E Stratonst Style b Sim61      
TK Veitchrun out32      
A Guildc Estridge b Abraham9      
P Gullyb Mott7      
W Gracenot out13      
F McLarenb Mott0      
JT Frenchb Abraham0      
FW Boileaub Abraham0      
Extras(13 b, 7 lb, 3 w)23
Total(all out)217
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-39, 3-137, 4-185, 5-190, 6-202, 7-214, 8-214, 9-217, 10-217
Devon bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Devon first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HW Estridgec French b Guild4      
+J Styleb Guild17      
AP Handleyb Guild0      
C Hoarec Gully b Guild5      
JF Scobellc Elliot b Guild11      
JW Knight-Brucec Thompson b Guild4      
WK Mottb French11      
WC Simb French1      
H Scobellc Elliot b Guild8      
TS Abrahamnot out0      
TC Agar-Robartesabsent
Extras(5 b, 1 lb)6
Total(all out)67
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-34, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-67
Northumberland bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Devon second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
HW Estridgeb Guild10      
+J Styleb Guild0      
AP Handleyb Guild0      
C Hoarec Gully b French0      
JF Scobellb French4      
JW Knight-Bruceb French5      
WK Mottst Elliot b French5      
WC Simnot out0      
H Scobellb Guild2      
TS Abrahamb French0      
TC Agar-Robartesabsent
Extras(10 b, 1 lb)11
Total(all out, 28 overs)37
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-37 (28 ov)
Northumberland bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
French14   8135--
Guild14   9134--

It is not known which Scobell bowled in the Northumberland first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive