Dulwich College v Marylebone Cricket Club
Other matches in England 1879
VenueDulwich College Ground, Dulwich on 21st June 1879 (1-day single innings match)
Balls per over4
TossToss not known
ResultMarylebone Cricket Club won by 9 wickets
UmpiresW Price, W Shepherd

Dulwich College inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JE Waterfieldc Farrands b West1      
MH Morleyb Farrands0      
FJ Fitzgeraldc sub b Farrands0      
PS Chapmanlbw b Farrands12      
AW Dormanb West3      
AMD du Prec Aspinall b Farrands0      
AN Morleyb Farrands0      
WJ Holmesb West2      
WHJB Joycenot out2      
PK Bowdenb Farrands2      
HDE Parsonsc sub b Farrands0      
Total(all out)22
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-22
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Marylebone Cricket Club inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Westc and b Dorman19      
HH Battenb Dorman12      
JFC Normanb MH Morley19      
WG Wyldb du Pre40      
WS Shirleyb MH Morley2      
JB Oakleyb du Pre21      
AR Aspinallb du Pre5      
W Williams hit wkt b Parsons0      
FH Farrandsb Parsons0      
W Pricenot out0      
OD Brooksdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 1 lb, 2 w)5
Total(9 wickets)123
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-123
Dulwich College bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
MH Morley???2--
du Pre???3--

--> Marylebone Cricket Club batted on after winning

Our thanks to Arthur Haygarth for collecting the information and to Roger Heavens for providing this scorecard which was first published in Arthur Haygarth's Cricket Scores and Biographies Volume 16. Copies of the book can be obtained from . Additions or corrections to this scorecard would be gratefully received.
In one account Mr. Brooks did not go in, and in another he was absent. Therefore whether the M.C.C. innings was concluded or not, seems doubtful.
Source does not make clear how many wickets had fallen when Marylebone Cricket Club passed their target





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive