Nottinghamshire v Surrey
County Championship 1946
VenueTrent Bridge, Nottingham on 8th, 10th, 11th June 1946 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNottinghamshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsNottinghamshire 4; Surrey 0
UmpiresG Beet, H Elliott
Close of play day 1Nottinghamshire (1) 129/4 (Harris 51*, Winrow 11*)
Close of play day 2No play

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WW Keetonc Mobey b Gover35      
CB Harrisc Parker b Gover58      
*GFH Heanelbw b Gover2      
J Hardstaffc Mobey b Gover16      
FW Stocksb Gover1      
FH Winrowb AV Bedser47      
TB Reddicklbw b AV Bedser3      
JS Hodgkinsc AV Bedser b Gover44      
FG Woodheadrun out0      
A Jepsonnot out27      
+EA Meadsdid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 9 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)16
Total(9 wickets, declared, 84 overs)249
Fall of wickets:
1-77, 2-81, 3-105, 4-107, 5-142, 6-155, 7-195, 8-195, 9-249 (84 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gover31   6936--
AV Bedser34   9742--
Watts14   2420--
EA Bedser2   090--
Squires3   1150--

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RJ Gregoryc Meads b Hodgkins4      
LB Fishlockc Stocks b Heane37      
HS Squireslbw b Jepson31      
HT Barlingb Woodhead1      
JF Parkerlbw b Jepson52      
EA Bedserb Jepson2      
AV Bedserb Woodhead0      
+GS Mobeynot out59      
EA Wattsb Jepson33      
*NH Bennettb Jepson6      
AR Goverb Jepson2      
Extras(7 b, 3 lb, 1 w)11
Total(all out, 71.5 overs)238
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-60, 3-65, 4-91, 5-93, 6-96, 7-143, 8-220, 9-236, 10-238 (71.5 ov)
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hodgkins8   0551--
Woodhead25   8592--
Heane13   2361--
Harris2   060--

--> A Jepson reached 100 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Surrey first innings
--> A Jepson reached 100 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 6th wicket in the Surrey first innings

It is not known if the umpire was Harry Elliott or Harold Elliott





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive