Hindus v Parsees
Bombay Pentangular Tournament 1941/42 (Final)
VenueBrabourne Stadium, Bombay on 23rd, 24th, 25th, 26th December 1941 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossHindus won the toss and decided to bat
ResultHindus won by 10 wickets
UmpiresHE Choudhury, Vali Ahmed
Close of play day 1Hindus (1) 299/5 (VM Merchant 145*, Jai 4*)
Close of play day 2Parsees (1) 103/5 (Khot 20*, Tarapore 2*)
Close of play day 3Parsees (2) 106/4 (Khot 2*, Tarapore 6*)

Hindus first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+DD Hindlekarrun out14      
SW Sohonib Palia3      
MN Raijic Meherhomji b Khot2      
VM Merchantc Palia b Havewala221 45017-  
CT Sarwatec Mistry b Mobed5      
KM Rangnekarb Mobed117 18712-  
*LP Jailbw b Tarapore27      
UM Merchantc and b Khot47      
RJ Gharatrun out7      
KM Jadhavlbw b Havewala9      
SK Girdharinot out9      
Extras(12 b, 1 lb)13
Total(all out, 181 overs)474
Fall of wickets:
1-6 (Sohoni), 2-9 (Raiji), 3-46 (Hindlekar), 4-67 (Sarwate), 5-292 (Rangnekar), 6-359 (Jai), 7-426 (VM Merchant), 8-450 (UM Merchant), 9-461, 10-474 (181 ov)
Parsees bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Khot34   8842--
Palia54   20901--
Mobed41   61132--
Tarapore31   7851--
Havewala19   2782--
Cooper2   0110--

Parsees first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+KR Meherhomjic Sarwate b Sohoni19      
MF Mistryc Jai b Sarwate5      
EB Aibarab Sarwate5      
RS Modic Hindlekar b Sohoni34      
HA Printerb Girdhari15      
JB Khotc Raiji b Jadhav38      
KK Taraporerun out39      
*PE Palialbw b Sarwate3      
RS Coopernot out31      
DR Havewalac and b Girdhari2      
MJ Mobedb Girdhari0      
Extras(9 b, 3 lb)12
Total(all out, 85.4 overs)203
Fall of wickets:
1-19 (Mistry), 2-31 (Aibara), 3-31 (Meherhomji), 4-55 (Printer), 5-97 (Modi), 6-133 (Khot), 7-136 (Palia), 8-198 (Tarapore), 9-203 (Havewala), 10-203 (Mobed, 85.4 ov)
Hindus bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jadhav9   0261--
Sohoni19   4502--
VM Merchant1   010--
Sarwate22   5413--
Rangnekar3   0110--
Raiji5   1140--
Gharat7   0180--

Parsees second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
MF Mistrylbw b Raiji36      
HA Printerlbw b Sarwate28      
RS Cooperc Jai b Sarwate0      
RS Modic Sarwate b Raiji13      
JB Khotb Sarwate7      
KK Taraporest Hindlekar b Raiji24      
*PE Paliab Sarwate16      
EB Aibarab Raiji57      
+KR Meherhomjilbw b Jadhav71      
DR Havewalab Raiji14      
MJ Mobednot out4      
Extras(31 b, 8 lb)39
Total(all out, 118.4 overs)309
Fall of wickets:
1-69 (Printer), 2-69 (Cooper), 3-92 (Modi), 4-95 (Mistry), 5-131 (Khot), 6-135 (Tarapore), 7-155 (Palia), 8-265 (Meherhomji), 9-296 (Havewala), 10-309 (Aibara, 118.4 ov)
Hindus bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jadhav12   7271--
Sohoni16   6450--
Sarwate31   10774--
Girdhari19   4470--
Gharat9   1200--

Hindus second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+DD Hindlekarnot out15      
SW Sohoninot out26      
MN Raijidid not bat      
SK Girdharidid not bat      
VM Merchantdid not bat      
CT Sarwatedid not bat      
KM Rangnekardid not bat      
*LP Jaidid not bat      
UM Merchantdid not bat      
RJ Gharatdid not bat      
KM Jadhavdid not bat      
Total(no wicket, 8.1 overs)41
Parsees bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Khot2   060--
Havewala4   0200--

--> VM Merchant (1) 100 in 239 minutes with 9 fours
--> VM Merchant (1) 150 in 326 minutes
--> VM Merchant (1) 200 in 402 minutes with 16 fours
--> KM Rangnekar (1) 100 in 153 minutes with 10 fours
--> KM Rangnekar (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 101
--> RJ Gharat made his debut in first-class matches
--> RS Cooper (1) passed his previous highest score of 24 in first-class matches
--> KR Meherhomji (2) passed his previous highest score of 66 in first-class matches
--> KR Meherhomji (2) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 50
--> HA Printer made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> HA Printer (2) passed his previous highest score of 22 in first-class matches
--> RJ Gharat made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> DR Havewala reached 50 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Hindus first innings
--> SK Girdhari achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Parsees first innings (previous best was 3-37)
--> MN Raiji achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches when he dismissed DR Havewala in the Parsees second innings (previous best was 3-32)
--> MN Raiji achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the Parsees second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive