Hindus v Muslims
Bombay Pentangular Tournament 1939/40 (Final)
VenueBrabourne Stadium, Bombay on 25th, 26th, 27th November 1939 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossMuslims won the toss and decided to bat
ResultHindus won by 5 wickets
UmpiresNA Dubash, DK Kapadia
Close of play day 1Hindus (1) 47/3 (Amarnath 20*, Banerjee 1*)
Close of play day 2Muslims (2) 141/8 (Amir Elahi 2*)

Muslims first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SM Kadrib Amar Singh26     
S Mushtaq Alic Mankad b CS Nayudu34     
+Dilawar Hussainc and b CS Nayudu45     
*S Wazir Alib CK Nayudu33     
S Nazir Alic Banerjee b CS Nayudu18     
M Jahangir Khanc Hindlekar b CK Nayudu13     
Saeed Ahmedc Amarnath b CS Nayudu0     
Abbas Khannot out19     
Amir Elahilbw b CS Nayudu2     
M Nissarc Amarnath b CS Nayudu2     
M Mazhar Mahmoodb CS Nayudu1     
Extras(4 b, 2 lb)6
Total(all out, 93.1 overs)199
Fall of wickets:
1-54 (Mushtaq Ali), 2-69 (Kadri), 3-141 (Wazir Ali), 4-141 (Dilawar Hussain), 5-158 (Jahangir Khan), 6-159 (Saeed Ahmed), 7-188 (Nazir Ali), 8-192 (Amir Elahi), 9-196 (Nissar), 10-199 (Mazhar Mahmood, 93.1 ov)
Hindus bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Banerjee9   0370--
Amar Singh31   14501--
Amarnath6   370--
VM Merchant4   130--
Jagdale3   050--
CS Nayudu31.14787--
CK Nayudu9   2132--

Hindus first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+DD Hindlekarb Nissar4     
MH Mankadb Amir Elahi19     
L Amarnathc Jahangir Khan b Nissar28     
*CK Nayudub Amir Elahi0     
SN Banerjeec Jahangir Khan b Nissar17     
VM Merchantlbw b Nissar32     
CS Nayuduc Mushtaq Ali b Nissar0     
MM Jagdalec Wazir Ali b Amir Elahi17     
L Amar Singhlbw b Saeed Ahmed22     
KM Rangnekarlbw b Nissar14     
UM Merchantnot out0     
Extras(2 b, 1 lb, 3 nb)6
Total(all out, 55.3 overs)159
Fall of wickets:
1-16 (Hindlekar), 2-43 (Mankad), 3-43 (CK Nayudu), 4-57 (Amarnath), 5-80 (Banerjee), 6-80 (CS Nayudu), 7-117 (Jagdale), 8-123 (VM Merchant), 9-155 (Rangnekar), 10-159 (Amar Singh, 55.3 ov)
Muslims bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nissar20   3526--
Mazhar Mahmood5   1190--
Saeed Ahmed17.37371--
Jahangir Khan2   090--
Amir Elahi11   6363--

Muslims second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SM Kadrib Amar Singh33     
S Mushtaq Alib Banerjee3     
Abbas Khanc VM Merchant b Banerjee10     
*S Wazir Alirun out52     
S Nazir Alib CS Nayudu3     
+Dilawar Hussainc Rangnekar b CS Nayudu45 1454- 
Saeed Ahmedlbw b Banerjee0     
M Jahangir Khanb Banerjee0     
Amir Elahic and b CS Nayudu19     
M Nissarb CS Nayudu1     
M Mazhar Mahmoodnot out4     
Extras(6 b, 3 lb, 1 nb)10
Total(all out, 75.1 overs)180
Fall of wickets:
1-16 (Mushtaq Ali), 2-32 (Abbas Khan), 3-80 (Kadri), 4-93 (Nazir Ali), 5-136 (Saeed Ahmed), 6-136 (Jahangir Khan), 7-138 (Wazir Ali), 8-141 (Nissar), 9-174 (Amir Elahi), 10-180 (Dilawar Hussain, 75.1 ov)
Hindus bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Banerjee14   2574--
Amar Singh25   7281--
CS Nayudu25.13644--
CK Nayudu5   270--
Mankad4   250--
Amarnath2   090--

Hindus second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+DD Hindlekarc Saeed Ahmed b Nissar13     
MH Mankadb Amir Elahi73 1559- 
L Amarnathlbw b Saeed Ahmed5     
VM Merchantnot out88     
*CK Nayudub Amir Elahi18     
CS Nayudulbw b Nazir Ali14     
SN Banerjeenot out2     
MM Jagdaledid not bat      
L Amar Singhdid not bat      
KM Rangnekardid not bat      
UM Merchantdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 4 lb)8
Total(5 wickets, 66 overs)221
Fall of wickets:
1-20 (Hindlekar), 2-29 (Amarnath), 3-150 (Mankad), 4-190 (CK Nayudu), 5-207 (CS Nayudu)
Muslims bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nissar9   0381--
Jahangir Khan12   2240--
Saeed Ahmed15   5251--
Nazir Ali7   1201--
Mazhar Mahmood3   0200--
Amir Elahi19   2802--
Mushtaq Ali1   060--

--> The match was scheduled for four days but completed in three.
--> M Mazhar Mahmood made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> S Nazir Ali (1) passed 3000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 10
--> VM Merchant (2) 50 in 115 minutes
--> Dilawar Hussain retired hurt in the Muslims second innings having scored 29 (team score 136/4) - he returned when the score was 141/8

Abbas Khan kept wicket after lunch on Day 3





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive