Hindus v Parsees
Bombay Pentangular Tournament 1939/40 (Semi-Final)
VenueBrabourne Stadium, Bombay on 21st, 22nd, 23rd November 1939 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossParsees won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn (Hindus won on first innings)
UmpiresJ Pinto, Vali Ahmed
Close of play day 1Hindus (1) 62/2 (Amarnath 30*, CK Nayudu 8*)
Close of play day 2Parsees (2) 73/1 (Canteenwala 32*, Aibara 4*)

Parsees first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FK Narimanlbw b Banerjee6      
NF Canteenwalalbw b CS Nayudu23      
EB Aibarac CK Nayudu b Amarnath22      
PE Paliarun out25      
JB Khotc Bhandarkar b Amar Singh16      
*SHM Colahrun out10      
JN Bhayanot out82      
MJ Mobedc Bhandarkar b CS Nayudu1      
KK Taraporeb CS Nayudu20      
+MP Engineerc Mankad b Banerjee8      
S Darashahc and b Banerjee0      
Extras(4 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)7
Total(all out, 82.3 overs)220
Fall of wickets:
1-6 (Nariman), 2-53 (Aibara), 3-53 (Canteenwala), 4-92 (Palia), 5-106 (Colah), 6-108 (Khot), 7-109 (Mobed), 8-195 (Tarapore), 9-220 (Engineer), 10-220 (Darashah, 82.3 ov)
Hindus bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Amar Singh24   3631--
Amarnath12   1271--
CS Nayudu27   5603--
CK Nayudu6   2120--
Mankad4   0140--

Hindus first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MH Mankadb Khot9      
+KV Bhandarkarc Mobed b Tarapore11      
L Amarnathc Aibara b Mobed37      
*CK Nayudub Tarapore47      
VM Merchantb Tarapore4      
MM Jagdalelbw b Tarapore3      
CS Nayuduc Aibara b Colah126 17312-  
L Amar Singhc Aibara b Mobed11      
SN Banerjeec Canteenwala b Palia56      
UM Merchantlbw b Palia2      
KM Rangnekarnot out1      
Extras(5 b, 6 lb, 2 nb)13
Total(all out, 101 overs)320
Fall of wickets:
1-12 (Mankad), 2-46 (Bhandarkar), 3-80 (Amarnath), 4-95 (VM Merchant), 5-113 (Jagdale), 6-122 (CK Nayudu), 7-153 (Amar Singh), 8-305 (CS Nayudu), 9-319 (UM Merchant), 10-320 (Banerjee, 101 ov)
Parsees bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Darashah17   3410--
Khot12   3361--
Palia8   0332--
Tarapore28   7774--
Mobed34   21062--
Colah2   0141--

Parsees second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NF Canteenwalac VM Merchant b CS Nayudu39      
FK Narimanst Bhandarkar b CK Nayudu29      
EB Aibarac UM Merchant b CS Nayudu21      
JB Khotst Bhandarkar b CS Nayudu49      
JN Bhayac UM Merchant b Banerjee84 136    
*SHM Colahb CS Nayudu13      
PE Paliac Bhandarkar b Amar Singh11      
KK Taraporest Bhandarkar b CS Nayudu0      
MJ Mobednot out18      
+MP Engineernot out5      
S Darashahdid not bat      
Extras(9 b, 2 lb, 3 nb)14
Total(8 wickets, declared, 99 overs)283
Fall of wickets:
1-57 (Nariman), 2-95 (Canteenwala), 3-104 (Aibara), 4-179 (Khot), 5-199 (Colah), 6-218 (Palia), 7-219 (Tarapore), 8-270 (Bhaya)
Hindus bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Amar Singh33   9741--
Amarnath3   070--
Banerjee7   1191--
CS Nayudu41   31275--
CK Nayudu6   2131--
Mankad9   1290--

Hindus second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MH Mankadlbw b Tarapore24      
+KV Bhandarkar hit wkt b Mobed60 1152-  
L Amarnathnot out41      
*CK Nayudunot out5      
VM Merchantdid not bat      
MM Jagdaledid not bat      
CS Nayududid not bat      
L Amar Singhdid not bat      
SN Banerjeedid not bat      
UM Merchantdid not bat      
KM Rangnekardid not bat      
Extras(1 lb)1
Total(2 wickets, 46 overs)131
Fall of wickets:
1-62 (Mankad), 2-126 (Bhandarkar)
Parsees bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Darashah5   0110--
Khot5   0100--
Tarapore17   4391--
Mobed15   1611--
Colah4   090--

--> JN Bhaya (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 24
--> L Amarnath (1) passed 4000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 5
--> CS Nayudu (1) passed his previous highest score of 85 in first-class matches
--> CS Nayudu (1) made his first century in first-class matches
--> CS Nayudu (1) 100 in 150 minutes with 10 fours
--> NF Canteenwala (2) passed his previous highest score of 36 in first-class matches
--> KV Bhandarkar (2) passed his previous highest score of 50 in first-class matches
--> L Amar Singh reached 500 wickets in first-class matches when he dismissed JB Khot, his 1st wicket in the Parsees first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive