Glamorgan v Leicestershire
County Championship 1939
VenueSt Helen's, Swansea on 26th, 27th, 28th July 1939 (3-day match)
Balls per over8
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresE Cooke, JA Newman
Close of play day 1Glamorgan (1) 120/2 (Brierley 39*, D Davies 4*; 39 overs)
Close of play day 2No play

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GL Berryc Smart b DE Davies76     
FT Prenticeb Mercer3     
NF Armstrongc Smart b Mercer49     
GS Watsonb Mercer3     
*MS Packeb Clay12     
G Lesterc HG Davies b DE Davies14     
LD Thurstingst HG Davies b Mercer11     
+GO Dawkesb Mercer26     
HA Smithb Mercer6     
J Sperryb Mercer4     
CH Drakenot out2     
Extras(5 b, 4 lb, 1 w)10
Total(all out, 68.2 overs)216
Fall of wickets:
1-8, 2-101, 3-116, 4-145, 5-153, 6-178, 7-186, 8-201, 9-205, 10-216 (68.2 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Matthews9   2300--
Clay23   4551--
DE Davies17   1512--
Smart4   130--

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AH Dysonlbw b Lester53     
DE Daviesc Thursting b Smith15     
TL Brierleynot out39     
D Daviesnot out4     
*MJL Turnbulldid not bat      
JC Claydid not bat      
CC Smartdid not bat      
EC Jonesdid not bat      
+HG Daviesdid not bat      
J Mercerdid not bat      
ADG Matthewsdid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 2 lb, 1 w)9
Total(2 wickets, 39 overs)120
Fall of wickets:
1-44, 2-107
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sperry10   1330--
Drake9   2160--
Smith10   2231--
Prentice8   2290--
Lester2   0101--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> CH Drake made his debut in County Championship matches
--> DE Davies reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Leicestershire first innings
--> J Mercer reached 1350 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Leicestershire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive